Choose artist...
Lara Downes

13 WAYS of Looking at the Goldberg

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



13 WAYS of Looking at the Goldberg
'Lara Downes, Piano' - Live at the Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts, UC Davis
Music To Be Thankful For: Lara Downes
1 Bach: Aria, from Goldberg Variations BWV 988  
2 Fred Lerdahl: Chasing Goldberg  
3 Jennifer Higdon: The Gilmore Variation  
4 Bright Sheng: Variation Fugato  
5 Lukas Foss: Goldmore Variation  
6 Derek Bermel: Kontraphunktus  
7 Fred Hersch: Melancholy Minuet  
8 C. Curtis-Smith: Rube Goldberg Variation  
9 Stanley Walden: Fantasy Variation  
10 Ryan Brown: Ornament  
11 Mischa Zupko: Ghost Variation  
12 David Del Tredici: My Goldberg (Gymnopedie #1)  
13 William Bolcom: Yet Another Goldberg Variation  
14 Ralf Goth?ni: Variation on Variation w/ Variation  
15 Bach: Aria (Reprise), from Goldberg Var BWV 988  
16 Dave Brubeck: Chorale, fr Chromatic Fantasy Son.  
17 Lukas Foss: Prelude in D  
18 Bach: Sarabande, from French Suite V, BWV 816  
Show all tracks

In June of 1955, Glenn Gould made his groundbreaking recording of Bach's Goldberg Variations for Columbia Records, rescuing the Goldbergs from obscurity in one of the most significant classical recordings of a generation. Critically acclaimed pianist Lara Downes will be breaking ground of her own when Tritone Records releases her new CD 13 WAYS of Looking at the Goldberg, a fascinating new take on Bach's masterpiece. In an extraordinary coincidence of fate and timing, Lara's recording of her new Goldberg project took place over the same four days in June as Gould's historic 1955 sessions.

Go to artist details