Choose artist...
Lang Lang

Saint-Saens w/Alice, Gewandhausorchester - Nelsons

Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: February 23, 2024

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Do or Die: Lang Lang's Story HD
Carnegie Hall Debut Documentary
Carnegie Hall Perspectives Artist
1 SAINT-SAE¨NS Carnival of the Animals, R. 125 – No. 1a Introduction  
2 No. 1b The Lion’s Royal March  
3 No. 2 Hens and Roosters  
4 No. 3 Jackasses (Wild Animals)  
5 No. 4 Tortoises  
6 No. 5 The Elephant  
7 No. 6 Kangaroos  
8 No. 7 Aquarium  
9 No. 8 Personages with Long Ears  
10 No. 9 The Cuckoo in the Deep Woods  
11 No. 10 Aviary  
12 No. 11 Pianists  
13 No. 12 Fossils  
14 No. 13 The Swan  
15 No. 14 Finale  
16 SAINT-SAE¨NS Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor, op. 22 – 1. Andante sostenuto  
17 2. Allegro scherzando  
18 3. Presto  
19 RAVEL Pavane pour une infante de´funte, M. 19  
20 DEBUSSY Petite Suite, CD 71a – 1. En bateau. Andantino  
21 2. Corte`ge. Moderato  
22 3. Menuet. Moderato  
23 4. Ballet. Allegro giusto  
24 FAURE´ In paradisum  
25 DELIBES Lakme´ – Flower Duet  
26 SAINT-SAE¨NS Toccata after the Fifth Concerto, op. 111_6  
27 FAURE´ Pavane, op. 50  
28 FARRENC E´tude No. 10 in F sharp minor, op. 26_10  
29 SOHY Song without Words, op. 30_4  
30 TAILLEFERRE Valse lente  
31 BONIS La toute petite s_endort  
32 BOULANGER D_un jardin clair  
33 SAINT-SAE¨NS The Swan, R. 125_13  
Show all tracks

Berlin, 1 March 2024. Classical favourites, revelatory discoveries and two large-scale works by Saint-Saëns make up the fantastic selection of French music on Chinese pianist Lang Lang’s latest recording. Released today by Deutsche Grammophon on 2 CDs, 2 LPs and digitally, Lang Lang – Saint-Saëns sees the artist join forces with his wife, pianist Gina Alice, the Gewandhausorchester and conductor Andris Nelsons. At the heart of the album are the magical Carnival of the Animals, Saint-Saëns’s “Grand Zoological Fantasy” for two pianos and orchestra, and the same composer’s virtuosic Piano Concerto No. 2. Also included are a dozen works for solo piano or piano four hands – a blend of Belle Époque favourites and neglected gems by female French composers.

Lang Lang’s decision to open the album with a work that has enchanted generations of young listeners and introduced millions to classical music reflects his mission to attract children to the genre. “Many of us remember Saint-Saëns’s famous Carnival of the Animals from childhood. There are a lot of clever ideas underneath all the fun. He’s making a real statement, but in a very humorous way,” says the pianist. “And of course it was wonderful to record it with my wife, Gina Alice.”

The artists’ reading of “Aquarium” is already available digitally, complete with performance video, as is the piano four hands arrangement of “The Swan” in which Lang Lang plays both parts, while “Fossils” comes out today alongside the album, again with a video. A filmed version of the full work from the Gewandhaus stage, with Andris Nelsons, Gina Alice and Lang Lang, is available to watch on STAGE+.

Go to artist details