Choose artist...
Konstantia Gourzi



Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 LAO: Ny-el - Two Angels in the White Garden, op. 65 ? 1/Eviction  
2 2/Exodus  
3 3/Longing  
4 4/ The White Garden  
5 Minguet Quartett: The Angel in the Blue Garden, op. 61 - The Blue Rose  
6 The Blue Bird  
7 The Blue Moon - The Bright Side/1  
8 Turning/2  
9 The Dark Side/3  
10 Nils Monkemeyer, William Youn: Hommage a Mozart, op. 56 - I con eleganza, intense tanzend  
11 II singing, sostenuto, dreamish  
12 III scherzoso, ma calmo  
Show all tracks

Anájikon, the second ECM album by Athens-born and Munich-based Konstantia Gourzi, incorporates her chamber and orchestral music of the past decade. The composer also conducts the Lucerne Academy Orchestra here: "I see composing and conducting as a whole, as an inseparable relationship," she says. Gourzi is particularly concerned with making connections between the arts, which also relates to the question of her own artistic identity and the influence of her origins. In Gourzi's sound language, elements of different musical traditions repeatedly merge, and East and West enter into a dialogue.

Go to artist details