Choose artist...
Julius Asal

Scriabin - Scarlatti

Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: May 3, 2024

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Scriabin: Prélude in E-Flat Minor, Op. 11, No. 14
1 Scriabin_Prologue (from Piano Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 6_ IV. Funebre)  
2 D. Scarlatti_Keyboard Sonata in F Minor, K. 466  
3 Scriabin_24 Pre´ludes, Op. 11_No. 20. Appassionato in C Minor  
4 D. Scarlatti_ Keyboard Sonata in C Minor, K. 56  
5 D. Scarlatti_Keyboard Sonata in C Minor, K. 58  
6 Scriabin_Piano Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 6_I. Allegro con fuoco  
7 Scriabin_Piano Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 6_II  
8 Scriabin_Piano Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 6_III Presto  
9 Scriabin_Piano Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 6 iV Funebre  
10 D. Scarlatti_Sonata in F Minor, K. 238  
11 Asal_Transition I  
12 Scriabin_12 Etudes, Op. 8_No. 11 in B-Flat Minor  
13 Scriabin_24 Pre´ludes, Op. 11_No. 21 in B-Flat Major. Andante  
14 D. Scarlatti_Keyboard SOnata in B-Flat Major, K. 544  
15 Scriabin_5 Preludes, Op. 16_No. 4 in E-Flat Minor  
16 Asal_Transition II  
17 Scriabin_24 Pre´ludes, Op. 11_No. 14 in E-Flat Minor. Presto  
18 Scriabin_5 Preludes, Op. 16_No. 1 in B Major  
19 Scriabin_24 Pre´ludes, Op. 11_No. 6 in B Minor. Allegro  
20 D. Scarlatti_ Keyboard SOnata in B Minor, K. 87  
21 Scriabin_Epilogue (from Piano Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 6_IV Funebre)  
Show all tracks

The album begins and ends with a fragment from the finale of Scriabin’s First Piano Sonata Asal’s full performance of the Sonata is framed by a selection of Scriabin’s etudes and preludes,  six sonatas by Scarlatti and two improvisatory Transitions by the pianist himself Julius Asal chose two different Steinways for the recording,  one for its sumptuous dark sonorities, the other for its clear, crisp sound

“These miniatures by Scriabin and Scarlatti are like mythical creatures from another dimension, with their own character, their own life, their own past, present and future.” - Julius Asal

Alexander Scriabin (1872-1915) and Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757) prove to be engaging and complementary characters in the hands of German pianist Julius Asal, whose debut Deutsche Grammophon album is set for release in all formats on 3 May 2024. Scriabin – Scarlatti is built from works by two composers rarely mentioned in the same breath, the one a Russian absorbed by mysticism and its expression in the arts, the other a Neapolitan noted for the panache of his 555 keyboard sonatas. The album creates a dreamlike meditation in which the boundaries between pieces, eras and states of mind fade away. “Everything’s possible in a dream”, says the 27-year-old artist, who has a rare talent for innovative programme curation. “Even seemingly different materials from different times and with different densities can merge and create a new substance that’s never existed before. That’s how I felt while I was recording the music of Scriabin and Scarlatti.”

Go to artist details