Choose artist...
Joy Harjo

I Pray For My Enemies

Release Date: March 5, 2021

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Interview with Resilience Radio at KVMR: Nevada City, CA
Joy Harjo Reflects On Time As U.S. with News On 6/KOTV
Joy Harjo's Inaugural Reading as U.S. Poet Laureate
Governor's Arts Awards
U.S. Poet Laureate Joy Harjo visits Wake Forest
Joy Harjo Ends Historic 3rd Term As US Poet Laureate
1 Allay Na Lee No  
2 An American Sunrise  
3 Calling The Spirit Back  
4 How Love Blows Through The Trees  
5 Earth House  
6 Fear  
7 Running  
8 We Emerged From Night In Clothes Of Sunrise  
9 Midnight Is A Horn Player  
10 Once The World Was Perfect  
11 Rabbit Invents The Saxophone  
12 Remember  
13 Why Is Beauty?  
14 One Day There Will Be Horses  
15 Stomp All Night  
16 This Morning I Pray For My Enemies  
Show all tracks

In her first new recording in a decade, Joy Harjo – the first Native American named Poet Laureate of the United States – digs deep into the indigenous red earth and the shared languages of music to sing, speak and play a stunningly original musical meditation that seeks healing for a troubled world – I Pray for My Enemies, to be released from Sunyata Records/Sony Orchard Distribution on March 5, 2021.

Collaborating with producer/engineer Barrett Martin on this unique new album, Harjo brings a fresh identity to the poetry and songs that have made her a renowned poet of the Muscogee Creek Nation and one of the most authentic and compelling voices of these times. 

"The concept for I Pray for My Enemies began" says Harjo, "with an urgent need to deal with discord, opposition. It could have been on a tribal, national or a personal level. I no longer remember. The urgency had a heartbeat and in any gathering of two or more, perhaps the whole planet, our hearts lean to entrainment – that is, to beat together." 

Latin Grammy-winning producer, composer and founding father of the historic Seattle music scene, Barrett Martin brings a new dimension to Harjo's unique sound-world – her words and music spoken, sung and explored in a vibrant mix of classic instrumental sounds. Harjo and Martin describe it as "funkified spoken word" inspiring "elegant jazz, urban soul, and inner city, reservation grit." Harjo sings and speaks her poetry, as well as playing saxophone and flute, on an album she describes as "very much of-the-moment."

Harjo defines songs and poems as distinctly different expressions, and both are featured in the 16 tracks that make up I Pray for My Enemies. Her words and music, older and newer, get a fresh new identity here. The album opens, however, with a traditional Muscogee song "Allay Na Lee No." "Music travels," she says, adding, "It travels through history, ancestors and especially loves ports and waterways." 


Go to artist details