Choose artist...
Jonathan Biss

Beethoven Piano Sonatas Volume 4

Orchid Classics
Release Date: January 27, 2015

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Conversation: Pianist Jonathan Biss
At the Piano with Jonathan Biss and Caroline Shaw / Seattle Symphony
1 Beethoven Piano Sonata Op. 2 No. 1 - Allegro
2 Beethoven Piano Sonata Op. 2 No. 1 - Adagio
3 Beethoven Piano Sonata Op. 2 No. 1 - Menuetto - Trio
4 Beethoven Piano Sonata Op. 2 No. 1 - Prestissimo
5 Beethoven Piano Sonata Op. 10 No. 2 - Allegro
6 Beethoven Piano Sonata Op. 10 No. 2 - Allegretto
7 Beethoven Piano Sonata Op. 10 No. 2 - Presto
8 Beethoven Piano Sonata Op. 49 No. 1 - Andante
9 Beethoven Piano Sonata Op. 49 No. 1 - Rondo / Allegro
10 Beethoven Piano Sonata Op. 57 - Allegro assai
11 Beethoven Piano Sonata Op. 57 - Andante con moto
12 Beethoven Piano Sonata Op. 57 - Allegro ma non troppo (attacca)
Show all tracks

Exploring Beethoven's Piano Sonatas relaunches on January 5 - Jonathan Biss's Volume 4 of Beethoven's Piano Sonatas releases on January 27

This season, Jonathan Biss engages with Beethoven as a concert pianist, a teacher, and a recording artist. Biss has undertaken a nine-year, nine-disc recording project of the entire Beethoven sonata cycle. The fourth volume of sonatas, including Op. 2, no. 1, the first Beethoven sonata; Op. 10, no. 2; Op. 49, no. 1, and Op. 57, the "Appassionata," will be released on January 27, 2015. This recording brings Biss together with DFTBA (founded by John Green, author of The Fault In Our Stars, and his brother and video blog collaborator Hank Green) and Meyer Media (founded by producer Andreas Meyer). The new partnership provides a flexible platform to integrate Biss's varied recording, writing and teaching activities.

Four sonatas, including the first and the "Appassionata," will feature on Biss's recital programs across the United States and Europe. Biss's exceptional online course, Exploring Beethoven's Piano Sonatas, will relaunch on January 5, 2015 on Coursera in a new format, allowing students to watch all the video lessons at once or progress at their own pace. As part of the massive open online course (MOOC) experience, they will be able to explore music through a fresh presentation of quizzes, supplementary materials, and a global online conversation in forums.

A second part of the course on additional sonatas will launch in Spring 2015. Filmed at the Curtis Institute of Music, where Biss is a member of the piano faculty, the online lectures will eventually include all of the sonatas and are designed to help both musical novices and experts understand Beethoven's piano music. This season's Curtis courses are sponsored by Linda Richardson in loving memory of her husband, Dr. Paul Richardson. As part of his exploration of Beethoven, Biss also published Beethoven's Shadow on Amazon Kindle in 2011. This was the first-ever Single written by a classical musician and spent many weeks on the Kindle Singles bestseller lists.

Go to artist details