Choose artist...
Joe Hisaishi

A Symphonic Celebration

Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: July 21, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Merry-Go-Round of Life (from “Howl’s Moving Castle”)
1 Merry-Go-Round Of Life (from 'Howls Moving Castle')  
2 One Summer's Day (The Name of Life) (English Version from 'Spirited Away')  
3 The Legend of the Wind (from 'Nausicaa¨ of the Valley of the Wind')  
4 Nausicaa¨ Requiem (from 'Nausicaa¨ of the Valley of the Wind')  
5 The Battle between Mehve and Corvette (from 'Nausicaa¨ of the Valley of the Wind')  
6 The Distant Days (from 'Nausicaa¨ of the Valley of the Wind')  
7 The Bird Man (from 'Nausicaa¨ of the Valley of the Wind')  
8 A Town with an Ocean View (from 'Kiki's Delivery Service')  
9 Heartbroken Kiki (from 'Kiki's Delivery Service')  
10 Mother’s Broom (from 'Kiki's Delivery Service')  
11 The Legend of Ashitaka (from 'Princess Mononoke')  
12 The Demon God (from 'Princess Mononoke')  
13 Princess Mononoke (from 'Princess Mononoke')  
14 A Journey (A Dream of Flight) (from 'The Wind Rises')  
15 Nahoko (The Encounter) (from 'The Wind Rises')  
16 A Journey (A Kingdom of Dreams) (from 'The Wind Rises')  
17 Deep Sea Pastures (from 'Ponyo on the Cliff by the Sea')  
18 Mother Sea (from 'Ponyo on the Cliff by the Sea')  
19 Ponyo's Sisters Lend a Hand - A Song for Mothers and the Sea  
20 Ponyo on the Cliff by the Sea (from 'Ponyo on the Cliff by the Sea').  
21 Doves and the Boy (from 'Castle in the Sky')  
22 Carrying You (from 'Castle in the Sky')  
23 Bygone Days (from 'Porco Rosso')  
24 Symphonic Variation Merry-Go-Round + Cave of Mind  
25 One Summer's Day (The Name of Life)  
26 Reprise (from 'Spirited Away')  
27 The Path of the Wind (from 'My Neighbor Totoro')  
28 Hey Let's Go (from 'My Neighbor Totoro')  
29 My Neighbor Totoro (from 'My Neighbor Totoro')  
Show all tracks

On 30 March 2023, Deutsche Grammophon announced the signing of an exclusive agreement with Joe Hisaishi, the revered Japanese composer whose work has become synonymous with the magical Studio Ghibli animations of director Hayao Miyazaki. Spanning the full spectrum of Hisaishi’s work as composer, conductor and pianist, the deal will deliver a richly varied range of audio and audiovisual recordings. For his first DG album, out now, Hisaishi has created an exciting series of symphonic arrangements of his original soundtracks for such Ghibli classics as Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke and My neighbor Totoro. Fittingly titled A Symphonic Celebration and made in London with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by the composer, the album presents state-of-the-art recordings of the extraordinary music of this much-loved artistic force in animated movie-making.

Just weeks before the release of A Symphonic Celebration, the maestro made his debut at the Vienna Musikverein with the Wiener Symphoniker (on 30 March, as part of the orchestra’s new CINEMA:SOUND concert series). That very special event is now available to stream on DG’s STAGE+ platform. The label issued a first single from the album on 31 March – a joyful new version of the streaming hit “Merry-Go-Round of Life” from Studio Ghibli favourite Howl’s Moving Castle. Two further singles have followed: beautiful new versions of “Mother’s Broom” and “A Town with an Ocean View”, both from Kiki’s Delivery Service.

Go to artist details