Choose artist...
Joan Baez

Bowery Songs

KOCH Records

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Joan Baez - It's All Over Now Baby Blue
Emmylou Harris, Joan Baez and Jackson Browne - July 27, 2013
1 Finlandia  
2 Rexroth's Daughter  
3 Deportee  
4 Joe Hill  
5 Christmas in Washington  
6 Farewell Angelina  
7 Motherland  
8 Carrickfergus  
9 Jackaroe  
10 Seven Curses  
11 Dink's Song  
12 Silver Dagger  
13 It's All Over Now, Baby Blue  
14 Jerusalem  
Show all tracks

Over four decades after her landmark live album, In Concert, Joan Baez returns with Bowery Songs-a new live album that captures her November 6, 2004 performance at the Bowery Ballroom in New York City. USA Today has called Baez "the matriarch of modern folk music" and Bowery Songs celebrates her career and legacy with both classic and previously unreleased material. Bowery Songs features four previously unrecorded songs, Bob Dylan's "Seven Curses," Steve Earle's "Jerusalem," the hymn-like "Finlandia" and the traditional "Dink's Song." Baez is supported on the album by her recent touring band, George Javori, Duke McVinnie, Erik Della Penna and Graham Maby. The Washington Post recently said of Baez's live performances, "...still familiar after decades.she commanded newer compositions with grace and agility."

Bowery Songs, the newest album from Joan Baez and her first live album in ten years, is a soaring chronicle of her 2003-2004 tour. The album was recorded in its entirety on the Saturday night after Election Day, November 2004, at New York's Bowery Ballroom. From Joan's opening acapella benediction, "Finlandia," to her prophetic and telling versions of Bob Dylan's "It's All Over Now, Baby Blue" and Steve Earle's "Jerusalem" that close the album, there can be no mistaking the medium and the message she sought to capture.

One of the album's centerpieces is Earle's "Christmas in Washington" ("So come back Woody Guthrie/Come back to us now..."), one of three 'Bowery songs' that originated on Joan's most recent studio album Dark Chords On a Big Guitar (released in September 2003). The others are Greg Brown's "Rexroth's Daughter" (whose lyric gave the album its title) and Natalie Merchant's "Motherland," all of which have become staples in Joan's repertoire.

Go to artist details