Choose artist...
Jessye Norman

The Unreleased Masters

Decca Classics
Release Date: March 24, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Opera Singer, Jessye Norman - David Letterman
1 Wagner: Tristan und Isolde WWV 90 / Prelude: Langsam und schmactend  
2 “Westwärts schweift der Blick” (Seemann · Isolde · Brangäne)  
3 “Frisch weht der Wind der Heimat zu” (Seemann · Isolde · Brangäne)  
4 “Weh, ach wehe! Dies zu dulden” (Brangäne · Isolde)  
5 “Wie lachend sie mir Lieder singen” (Isolde · Brangäne)  
6 “Isolde! Geliebte! – Tristan! Geliebter!” (Tristan · Isolde)  
7 “Doch es rächte sich der verscheuchte Tag” (Isolde · Tristan)  
8 “O sink hernieder, Nacht der Liebe” (Tristan · Isolde)  
9 “Einsam wachend in der Nacht” (Brangäne · Isolde · Tristan)  
10 “Unsre Liebe? Tristans Liebe? Dein’ und mein’” (Tristan · Isolde)  
11 “So starben wir, um ungetrennt” (Tristan · Isolde · Brangäne)  
12 “Mild und leise wie er lächelt” (Isoldes Liebestod) (Isolde)  
13 R. Strauss: Vier letzte Lieder TrV 296 / I Frühling (Hesse)  
14 II September (Hesse)  
15 III Beim Schlafengehen (Hesse)  
16 IV Im Abendrot (Eichendorff)  
17 Wagner: Wesendonck-Lieder / No.1 Der Engel  
18 No.2 Stehe still!  
19 No.3 Im Treibhaus  
20 No.4 Schmerzen  
21 No.5 Träume  
22 Haydn: Scena di Berenice Hob. XXIVa:10 / Recitativo: “Berenice, che fai?”  
23 Cavatina: “Non partir, bell’idol mio”  
24 Recitativo: “Me infelice!”  
25 Aria: “Perché, se tanti siete”  
26 Berlioz: Cléopâtre H.36 / Allegro vivace con impeto – Récitatif: “C’en est donc fait!”  
27 Lento cantabile: “Ah! qu’ils sont loin ces jours, tourment de ma mémoire”  
28 Méditation: Largo misterioso: “Grands Pharaons, nobles Lagides”  
29 Allegro assai agitato: “Non! … non, de vos demeures funèbres”  
30 Allegro non troppo – Recitativo misurato: “Dieux du Nil”  
31 Britten: Phaedra Op.93 / Prologue: “In May, in brilliant Athens”  
32 Recitative: “My lost and dazzled eyes saw only night”  
33 Presto: “You monster! You understood me too well”  
34 Recitative: “Oh Gods of wrath”  
35 Adagio: “My time’s too short, your highness”  
Show all tracks

Decca Classics is proud to present Jessye Norman – The Unreleased Masters, showcasing never-before-heard recordings of one of the greatest classical singers of all time. The set includes Wagner and Strauss song cycles, and a live recording of an eclectic programme of cantatas by Haydn, Berlioz and Britten. 

Released with the support of Ms. Norman’s family and estate, the box set pays tribute to one of the exceptional vocal performers of recent times, one of the most wide-ranging and committed artists, and certainly one of classical music’s great personalities. Born in segregated Georgia in 1945, Jessye Norman became one of the most celebrated opera singers and recitalists in the world, with her four-decade discography amassing five Grammys, including the Lifetime Achievement Award.
Ms. Norman’s continuous pursuit of excellence, combined with a relentless work ethic and schedule, meant many recording projects of extremely high standards were never finalized in her lifetime. As the former Head of Philips and Decca Classics, Costa Pilavachi writes in the booklet note: 

Go to artist details