Choose artist...
Jeni Slotchiver

American Heritage


Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Deep River  
2 Troubled Water  
3 From the Southland 1. Through Moanin' Pines  
4 From the Southland 2. The Frolic  
5 From the Southland In de Col' Moonlight  
6 From the Southland 4. A Jubilee  
7 From the Southland 5. On Bended Knees  
8 From the Southland 6. A New Hiding Place  
9 Union, Paraphrase de Concert op. 48  
10 The Banjo, Grotesque Fantasie, op 15  
11 Dances in the Canebreaks 1. Nimble Feet  
12 Dances in the Canebreaks 2. Tropical Noon  
13 Dances in the Canebreaks 3. Silk Hat and Walking Cane  
14 Dance - Juba  
15 The Blues, from Lenox Avenue  
16 Shenandoah  
17 Down By the Riverside  
18 Swanee River  
Show all tracks

Following the success of the Busoni The Visionary series, Jeni is humbled to introduce something so intimately close to home. With Southern roots of her own, Ms. Slotchiver's debut ZOHO CD release American Heritage is her homage to the legendary composers preserving American folk music and creating anew. What was once familiar, is reborn.

Spanning 125 years, from Louis Moreau Gottschalk's The Banjo (ca. 1854-5) to Frederic Rzewski's Down by the riverside (1979), American Heritage presents piano compositions by composers of concert music, inspired by the melodies, dance rhythms, harmonic inventions and various stylistic elements evocative of the American experience. Of the eight composers represented, six are of African descent and two of these are women. There are quotes from spirituals, use of the African American pentatonic scale, the African call and response structure popularized in southern church tradition, polyphonic rhythms of jazz, and the rich, sultry harmonies of blues. With the exception of the rich musical heritage of Indigenous people, the largest and most important American folkloric body of work arrived on American shores with the first enslaved African people. 

Go to artist details