Choose artist...
Jane Ira Bloom, Mark Helias

Some Kind of Tomorrow


Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



1 Some Kind of Tomorrow 4:12  
2 Magic Carpet 7:04  
3 Early Rites 4:24  
4 Willing 5:50  
5 Traveling Deep 3:31  
6 Roughing It 9:24  
7 Far Satellites 6:00  
8 Pros and Cons 5:55  
9 Drift 4:56  
10 Star Talk 5:19  
11 First Canvas 1:00  
Show all tracks

Soprano saxophonist Jane Ira Bloom and bassist Mark Helias come together to create duets discovered in the moment in a way that is rarely heard today with Some Kind of Tomorrow. The long time bandmates, separated by space and time find a way to play in real time with one another and the results are magical. Two master improvisers and composers bring listeners up-close and personal to the first spark of their imaginations at work, recording eleven duet improvisations over the spring, summer, and fall of 2020. The music is raw, authentic, intimate, alive, and unapologetic in its passion. Their sound is deep wood and polished brass recorded with a depth that is hard to describe. They played the music, recorded it, mastered it firsthand and are now making it available to listeners for the first time as a digital download on Bandcamp. Don't miss these fearless jazz explorers as they face the future.  

Go to artist details