Choose artist...
James Newton Howard

Night after Night

Sony Classical
Release Date: October 20, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Signs: The Cornfield  
2 Signs: After You Were Born  
3 Signs: Hand of Fate  
4 The Village: Morning  
5 The Village: Noah Visits  
6 The Village: Ivy Saves Lucius  
7 The Sixth Sense: Lonely Boy  
8 The Sixth Sense: Ghost in the House  
9 The Sixth Sense: Acceptance  
10 Lady in the Water: Prologue  
11 Lady in the Water: Charades  
12 Lady in the Water: Story  
13 Lady in the Water: Return to the Blue World  
14 Unbreakable: Survivor  
15 Unbreakable: Destiny  
16 The Last Airbender  
17 The Happening: An Event  
18 The Happening: Harbinger  
19 The Happening: Aftermath  
20 After Earth  
21 Flow Like Water [piano solo version, from The Last Airbender]  
Show all tracks

Night After Night: Music from the Movies of M. Night Shyamalan celebrates one of the richest collaborations between a contemporary film director and a composer – an all-new recording of music for M. Night Shyamalan’s most acclaimed films by the Emmy®- and Grammy®-winning composer and nine-time Oscar® nominee James Newton Howard. The Sony Classical album will be released on October 20, 2023 and is available now for preorder.  

Included on Night After Night are highlights from Howard’s haunting scores that became part of the identity of eight of Shyamalan’s eerie, mind-bending thrillers – The Sixth Sense (1999), Unbreakable (2000), Signs (2002), The Village (2004), Lady in the Water (2006), The Happening (2008), The Last Airbender (2010) and After Earth (2013).

For this album, James Newton Howard created eight suites that are piano centric and include new and original material.  Pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet performs throughout the recording. Violinist Hilary Hahn recreates her contributions to the soundtrack recording of the score for The Village, and cellist Maya Beiser reprises her performance of “An Event” from The Happening soundtrack. Gavin Greenaway conducts the orchestra and chorus in Howard’s new arrangements.

Go to artist details