Choose artist...
Isata Kanneh-Mason

Childhood Tales

Decca Classics
Release Date: May 26, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Debussy: Children's Corner, CD 119 - I. Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum
Schumann: Kinderszenen, Op. 15 - No. 7, Träumerei
1 Mozart: 12 Variations on ‘Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman' in C major, K265 / Var. 1  
2 Var. 2  
3 Var. 3  
4 Var. 4  
5 Var. 5  
6 Var. 6  
7 Var. 7  
8 Var. 8  
9 Var. 9  
10 Var. 10  
11 Var. 11  
12 Var. 12  
13 Dohnányi: Variations on a Nursery Tune, Op. 25 / Theme. Allegro  
14 Var. 1. Poco più mosso  
15 Var. 2. Risoluto  
16 Var. 3. L'istesso tempo  
17 Var. 4. Molto meno mosso (Allegretto moderato)  
18 Var. 5. Più mosso  
19 Var. 6. Ancora più mosso (Allegro)  
20 Var. 7. Walzer (Tempo giusto)  
21 Var. 8. Alla marcia (Allegro moderato)  
22 Var. 9. Presto - Andante rubato  
23 Var. 10. Passacaglia (Adagio non troppo)  
24 Var. 11. Choral (Maestoso)  
25 Finale fugato. Allegro vivace  
26 Debussy: Children's Corner / I. Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum  
27 II. Jimbo's Lullaby  
28 III. Serenade for the Doll  
29 IV. The Snow Is Dancing  
30 V. The Little Shepherd  
31 VI. Cakewalk  
32 Schumann: Kinderszenen, Op. 15 / No. 1, Von fremden Ländern und Menschen  
33 No. 2, Kuriose Geschichte  
34 No. 3, Hasche-Mann  
35 No. 4, Bittendes Kind  
36 No. 5, Glückes genug  
37 No. 6, Wichtige Begebenheit  
38 No. 7, Träumerei  
39 No. 8, Am Kamin  
40 No. 9, Ritter vom Steckenpferd  
41 No. 10, Fast zu ernst  
42 No. 11, Fürchtenmachen  
43 No. 12, Kind im Einschlummern  
44 No. 13, Der Dichter spricht  
Show all tracks

Decca Classics is delighted to announce that pianist Isata Kanneh-Mason’s third album ‘Childhood Tales’ is out now. Continuing her developing legacy with Decca Classics that began in 2019, this album uses Dolby Atmos Technology to capture Isata’s signature virtuosic flair. The first single, Mozart’s Variation 11: Adagio from Twelve Variations on “Ah vous dirai-je, Maman”, is out today.

The eldest of the famous musical siblings, Isata’s first memory of playing the piano was as a five-year-old on holiday in the Caribbean and sitting in front of her grandparents’ instrument. With a reputation for inventive programs, expressive performance and accomplished technique, Isata is in increasing demand nationally and internationally and was the only classical artist to appear in TIDAL’s 2023 Rising Artists to Watch.

Isata evokes the magic of childhood in this charming collection of nostalgic music. The album is centred around Erno Dohnányi’s rarely performed Variations on a Nursery Song, expanding the well-known ‘Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star’ into a truly virtuosic work which takes the theme through eleven musical variations and a fugal finale. Subtitled “for the enjoyment of friends of humour, to the annoyance of others”, it saw great success when it was introduced in the UK in the 1910s, with its witty, kaleidoscopic mix making this a concert favourite for many years afterwards before falling out of fashion – it was subsequently performed almost every year at the Proms from 1920s to 1950s. Isata is joined by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, with whom she previously recorded Clara Schumann’s Piano Concerto for her 2019 album “Romance” on Decca.

Go to artist details