Choose artist...
Iris Trio

Project Earth - The Blue Chapter

Release Date: April 5, 2024

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Bird Island Suite, III
1 Bird Island Suite, Poem - Audience  
2 I. Audience  
3 II. The Bird Island Cacophonic Choir  
4 Poem - Song for the Song of the Great Auk  
5 III. Song for the Song of the Great Auk  
6 Poem - Song for the Song of the Leach's Storm Petrel  
7 IV. Song for the Song of the Leach's Storm Petrel  
8 Chorus of Wishes- I. Part of It  
9 Poem - Chorus of Wishes  
10 II. Wider Mind  
11 Kinds of Blue, Poem - A Blue in Every Hue  
12 I. A Blue in Every Hue  
13 Poem - Jay  
14 II. Jay  
15 Poem - Iris  
16 III. Iris  
17 Poem - Berries  
18 IV. Berries  
Show all tracks

The Iris Trio announces the release of their album, Project Earth: The Blue Chapter, available on the Centrediscs label on April 5, 2024. The first in the epic multi-chapter Project Earth series, The Blue Chapter features original compositions by Juno Award-winning composer and jazz pianist Florian Hoefner, with original poetry written and recited by Griffin Prize-winning poet Don McKay. The result is the collision of the Iris Trio’s virtuosity and “exquisite balance of sound” (Augsburger Allgemeine) with a remarkable new body of spellbinding chamber music, uniting inspiration from classical, jazz, and folk genres.

The Blue Chapter of Project Earth is the trio’s second album. With Project Earth, the ensemble strivesto illuminate the impact of human behaviour on the environment, addressing issues of climate change, pollution, habitat degradation, and biodiversity loss, while also giving centre stage to the immense beauty and wonder found in nature. The three original works comprising the album serve this mandate with artful, innovative creations that are in turns celebratory and elegiac.

Go to artist details