Choose artist...
Inbal Segev

20 For 2020 - Volume 1


Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Interview w/ WGTE
90.5WUOL - Behind the Playlist
1 Fernando Otero - Concerto for Cello and String Orchestra  
2 James Lee III - Ekah for cello and piano  
3 Timo Andres - Agita for cello and piano  
4 Sophia Bass - Taal-Naad Naman for cello, table and tanpura  
5 Bruce Wolosoff - Lacrymae for cello choir  
Show all tracks

June 25 marks the release of the first volume of Inbal Segev's "20 for 2020" commissioning project, featuring works by five of today's most compelling composers. Galvanized by the unprecedented worldwide crises that characterized 2020 and encouraging creative recovery from them, the cellist launched this major new project last fall to capture something of that collective experience through the music of composers with strong and distinctive voices in a panorama of styles. An established driving force in the creation of new cello repertoire for the 21st century, Segev committed to commissioning and recording, in four volumes, new chamber works from a roster of cutting-edge composers for a music video series and an album on Avie Records. Newly announced works by John Luther Adams, Camille El Bacha, Gloria Coates, Stewart Goodyear, Adolphus Hailstork, Molly Joyce, Christopher Tyler Nickel, Immanuel Wilkins, Agata Zubel, and Segev herself join the previously announced diverse compositional voices of Timo Andres, Sophia Bass, Christopher Cerrone, Viet Cuong, Avner Dorman, Vijay Iyer, James Lee III, Angélica Negrón, Fernando Otero, and Bruce Wolosoff. Digital releases for the four volumes are set for June 25, August 27, November 19, and early 2022, the last also including a physical release. Click here to pre-order, and here to stream an audio single.

Go to artist details