Choose artist...
Igor Levit


Sony Classical

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


60 Minutes profiles Igor Levit
Igor Levit - An interview with BBC New Generation Artist
May It Return To The Heart (Igor Levit, pianist & Hans Ulrich Obrist, curator) | DLD 18
Bundesversammlung: Igor Levit im Interview am 13.02.22
1 Fantasia after J. S. Bach, BV 253  
2 Chaconne from Partita for Solo Violin No. 2, BWV 1004  
3 Variations on Ghost Variations  
4 Dreams, Pt. 1: III. A Mensch  
5 Solemn March to the Holy Grail from Parsifal  
6 Fantasia  
7 Adagio  
8 Fuga  
9 Isoldens Liebestod from Tristan and Isolde, S 447  
10 Elegies BV 249: VII. Berceuse  
11 Peace Piece  
Show all tracks

Sparked by the tragic death of a close friend in an accident, Igor Levit's piano playing reflects upon an experience of loss encompassing grief, despair, resignation and solace. He concentrates on works whose gloomy grandeur and melancholy beauty have occupied him for years. Each of them pays tribute to the virtuoso possibilities of the piano. Poetic moments of contemplative silence blend with life-affirming and extremely sensual music with a direct physical fascination. ... 

Go to artist details