Choose artist...
Igor Levit

Beethoven: The Late Piano Sonatas

Sony Masterworks

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


60 Minutes profiles Igor Levit
Igor Levit - An interview with BBC New Generation Artist
May It Return To The Heart (Igor Levit, pianist & Hans Ulrich Obrist, curator) | DLD 18
Bundesversammlung: Igor Levit im Interview am 13.02.22
1 Beethoven: 1. Etwas lebhaft, mit der innigsten Empfindung  
2 2. Lebhaft, marschmassig  
3 3. Langsam und sehnsuchtsvoll  
4 4. Geschwind, doch nicht zu sehr und mit Entschlossenheit  
5 1. Allegro  
6 2. Scherzo. Assai vivace  
7 3. Adagio sostenuto  
8 4. Largo Allegro risoluto  
9 1. Vivace ma non troppo  
10 2. Prestissimo  
11 3. Gesangvoll, mit innigster Empfindung  
12 1. Moderato cantabile molto espressivo  
13 2. Allegro molto  
14 3. Adagio ma non troppo  
15 1. Maestoso  
16 2. Arietta  
Show all tracks

"Unlike those technically brilliant young pianists who dazzle briefly and disappear, Levit is pre-eminently a real musician who seems built to last."The Guardian

For the last three years, Igor Levit's name has been the first to be mentioned whenever there has been talk of the most exciting of the younger generation of pianists. What is so surprising about Levit is not only the maturity of his interpretations, but his boundless appetite for new repertoire of works as difficult and demanding as possible.  For his long awaited debut album, the twenty-six-year-old Levit has chosen some of the most challenging repertoire ever written for piano: Beethoven's last five piano sonatas. On his two-CD debut set, Levit is not just another young aspiring pianist releasing his debut album, but rather an outstanding artist who meets the exceptionally high demands of this extraordinary music. Levit's technical and artististic command in the difficult "Hammerklaviersonate" op. 106 is sure to be recognized as one of the most astounding accomplishments in recent history of Beethoven recordings. 

Go to artist details