Choose artist...
Hilary Hahn

Plays Bach - Sonatas I & II, Partita I

Decca Classics

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Bach: Partita for Violin Solo No. 1 in B Minor, BWV 1002 - 4. Double (Presto)
Bach: Sonata for Violin Solo No. 1 in G Minor, BWV 1001 - 4. Presto
Hilary Hahn: NPR Music Tiny Desk Concert
Hilary Hahn is encore guest at Cambridge Suzuki School of Music
Paganini 24 Hula Hoop with HH
1 Bach: Sonata for Violin Solo No. 1 in G Minor, BWV 1001 - Adagio  
2 Fuga (Allegro)  
3 Siciliana  
4 Presto  
5 Bach: Partita for Violin Solo No. 1 in B Minor, BWV 1002 - Allemande  
6 Double  
7 Courante  
8 Double (Presto)  
9 Sarabande  
10 Double  
11 Tempo di Bourree  
12 Double  
13 Bach: Sonata for Violin Solo No. 2 in A Minor, BWV 1003 - Grave  
14 Fuga  
15 Andante  
16 Allegro  
Show all tracks

When Hilary Hahn plays Bach came out on Sony in 1997, critics were astounded that a performer would choose solo Bach for her debut album; they were further confounded by her elegant approach to this music's technical and interpretive challenges at such a young age. Bach expert Nicholas Anderson wrote in BBC Music Magazine at the time, "Bach's six unaccompanied solos - three each of partitas and sonatas - have long been regarded as the pinnacle of violin writing and the most elusive of goals for the aspiring performer... Hahn's affection for Bach's music becomes apparent at almost every turn; and the concluding movement of the C major Sonata is a tour de force. I long to hear more." Stereo Review wrote, "I would go so far as to say that I've never heard this legendary, impossible piece of music played on a higher level, technically and musically, than it is on Hahn's debut CD. This is simply a magnificent performance, completely true in all its parts and possessed of a depth and wisdom that belie the performer's age. Unlike most of the violinists who play this music, she is truly its master, and that frees her to play it with soul."

Now 38, she completes her recording of the Bach sonatas and partitas for solo violin in an album that will be released on Decca Classics on October 5, 2018. The new album includes the first partita and first and second sonatas.

Go to artist details