Choose artist...
Hilary Hahn

Eugene Ysaye - Six Sonatas For Solo Violin

Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: July 14, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Hilary Hahn: NPR Music Tiny Desk Concert
Hilary Hahn is encore guest at Cambridge Suzuki School of Music
Paganini 24 Hula Hoop with HH
Clip from CH+ Evolution of an Artist
1 Sonata No. 1 In G Minor – À Joseph Szigeti / I. Grave. Lento Assai  
2 Ii. Fugato. Molto Moderato  
3 Iii. Allegretto Poco Scherzoso. Amabile  
4 Iv. Finale Con Brio. Allegro Fermo  
5 Sonata No. 2 In A Minor – À Jacques Thibaud / I. Obsession : Prélude. Poco Vivace  
6 Ii. Malinconia. Poco Lento  
7 Iii. Danse Des Ombres : Sarabande. Lento  
8 Iv. Les Furies. Allegro Furioso  
9 Sonata No. 3 In D Minor  
10 Allegro In Tempo Giusto E Con Bravura – Tempo Poco Più Vivo E Ben Marcato  
11 Sonata No. 4 In E Minor – À Fritz Kreisler / I. Allemanda. Lento Maestoso  
12 Ii. Sarabande. Quasi Lento  
13 Iii. Finale. Presto Ma Non Troppo  
14 Sonata No. 5 In G Major – À Mathieu Crickboom / I. L'aurore. Lento Assai  
15 Ii. Danse Rustique. Allegro Giocoso Molto Moderato  
16 Sonata No. 6 In E Major – À Manuel Quiroga / Allegro Giusto Non Troppo Vivo  
Show all tracks

Three-time GRAMMY® Award-winning violinist Hilary Hahn has announced her latest album with Deutsche Grammophon: a recording of Eugène Ysaÿe’s Six Sonatas for Violin Solo, op. 27, to be released July 14 on CD, a 2-LP gatefold vinyl edition, and in digital formats including a Dolby Atmos version. Composed beginning in 1923, these six sonatas are among the supreme feats of technical virtuosity in the violin repertoire. Hahn’s interpretations, recorded last fall in the lead-up to this year’s centenary, see her come full circle as a direct musical descendant of Ysaÿe himself. 

“Just as Eugène Ysaÿe was inspired by Bach to write these six sonatas—and in doing so set a crucial milestone in the evolution of the violin—so too am I inspired by Ysaÿe to continually grow as an artist, to pour all of myself into this music and to commit myself fully to the pieces appearing on this recording,” says Hahn. “The sounds you hear aren’t just the product of the notes on the page, but of a centuries-long artistic lineage that has led me to this moment in time—me, standing on my own two feet with just my two hands, a violin, a bow, and four strings.”

A gifted violinist, conductor, and composer, Eugène Ysaÿe is widely considered to be the first modern violinist. As a performer, he embraced and defined the techniques of his day, revolutionizing the ways in which technical prowess and expressiveness could enhance one another without compromise; his mastery of rubato alone put him leaps and bounds ahead of other violinists of his time. A champion of new music, Ysaÿe received dedications from luminaries such as Franck, Debussy, Saint-Saëns, and Chausson. He was also an in-demand interpreter of repertoire works, breathing new life into works from the Classical and Early-Romantic era.

Go to artist details