Choose artist...
Hilary Hahn


Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: October 28, 2022

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Dvorák: Violin Concerto in A Minor, Op. 53, B.108: III. Finale
Hilary Hahn: NPR Music Tiny Desk Concert
Hilary Hahn is encore guest at Cambridge Suzuki School of Music
Paganini 24 Hula Hoop with HH
Clip from CH+ Evolution of an Artist
1 Dvorák: Violin Concerto in A minor, Op. 53 / I. Allegro ma non troppo  
2 II. Adagio ma non troppo  
3 III. Finale. Allegro giocoso, ma non troppo  
4 Ginastera: Violin Concerto / Ib. Studio I - Per gli accordi. Allegro  
5 Ic. Studio II - Per le terze. Allegretto  
6 Id. Studio III - Per gli altri intervalli. Lo stesso tempo  
7 Ie. Studio IV - Per l’arpeggiato. Lo stesso tempo  
8 If. Studio V - Per gli armonici. Andante  
9 Ig. Studio VI - Per i 24 quarti di tono. Larghissimo  
10 Ih. Coda. Maestoso  
11 II. Adagio per 22 solisti  
12 IIIa. Scherzo pianissimo. Sempre volante, misterioso e appena sensibile  
13 IIIb. Perpetuum mobile. Agitato ed allucinante  
14 Sarasate: Carmen Fantasy, Op. 25 / I. Moderato  
15 II. Lento assai  
16 III. Allegro moderato  
17 IV. Moderato  
Show all tracks

Hilary Hahn’s latest album, Eclipse, celebrates the power of authenticity. Recorded with the Frankfurt Radio Symphony and its Music Director (2014-2021), Andrés Orozco-Estrada, it sees the triple Grammy-winning violinist deliver interpretations of three works charged with universal emotions yet rooted in their composers’ musical heritage: Dvorák’s Violin Concerto, a tour de force from the Czech composer’s “Slavic period,” Ginastera’s Violin Concerto, a strikingly original 20th-century gem, and Sarasate’s Carmen Fantasy, among the greatest virtuoso showpieces of all time. “This recording tells stories I didn’t understand until I returned to the stage after a long hiatus: the elation of coming into one’s own, the declaration of an artistic identity, and what it means to regain your native language through music,” says Hahn. Eclipse is set for release by Deutsche Grammophon on 7 October 2022 on CD, 2 LPs, and digitally, including a Dolby Atmos version.

The album marks a series of musical milestones for the violinist. She has long loved the works it contains and discovered fresh insights and details of expression as she recorded each of them for the first time. Eclipse also reflects Hahn’s close collaboration with the musicians of the Frankfurt Radio Symphony (in their home city and on tour) and her extensive partnership with Maestro Orozco-Estrada. Above all, it documents her return to recording, following a year-long sabbatical and many additional months of artistic solitude.

Go to artist details