Choose artist...
Heinz Holliger, Anton Kernjak


Release Date: September 8, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Ravel: Pièce en forme de Habanera, M. 51 (Version for Oboe and Piano)  
2 Saint-Saëns: Oboe Sonata in D major Op. 166 / I. Andantino  
3 II. Allegretto  
4 III. Molto allegro  
5 Jolivet: Controversia  
6 Messiaen: Vocalise étude  
7 Messiaen: Morceau de lecture à vue  
8 Ravel: Deux mélodies hébraïques / No. 1, Kaddisch (Version for Oboe and Piano)  
9 Milhaud: Vocalise-Étude 'Air', Op. 105  
10 Debussy: Syrinx  
11 Koechlin: Le Repos de Tityre  
12 Jolivet: Chant pour les piroguiers de l'Orénoque  
13 Debussy: Petite Pièce  
14 Saint-Saëns: Le Rossignol (de Banville)  
15 Casadesus, R: Sonata Op. 23 bis / I. Allegro molto moderato  
16 II. Tempo di sardana  
17 III. Allegro vivo  
Show all tracks

In his Éventail de musique française, Swiss oboist and composer Heinz Holliger traverses a broad selection of French works for oboe and piano in a multichromatic programme of early 20th century music. Contained in this wide-ranging recital are compositions by Ravel, Debussy, Milhaud, Saint-Saëns, Casadesus as well as Koechlin, Jolivet and Messiaen – Holliger cultivated a personal relationship with several of the composers.

Heinz Holliger is once again joined by Austrian pianist Anton Kernjak, who also contributed to the 2014 recording Aschenmusik, and the duo navigates the different scores with equal technical finesse and emotive resolve, not least due to Holliger’s quite personal relationship to many of the compositions included in the recital.

Go to artist details