Choose artist...
Haruma Sato


Universal Music Japan
Release Date: April 14, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Mendelssohn: Cello Sonata No. 1 in B-Flat Major, Op. 45: I. Allegro vivace 12:36  
2 II. Andante 06:01  
3 III. Allegro assai 06:43  
4 Song Without Words, Op. 109 04:40  
5 On Wings of Song, Op. 34 No. 2 02:52  
6 Variations Concertantes, Op. 17 09:03  
7 Cello Sonata No. 2 in D Major, Op. 58: I. Allegro assai vivace 07:46  
8 II. Allegretto scherzando 05:19  
9 III. Adagio 05:07  
10 IV. Molto allegro e vivace 07:07  
Show all tracks

25-year-old cellist Haruma Sato, who in 2019 became the first Japanese to win the cello division of the long-established and prestigious Munich International Music Competition, releases his third album On Wings of Song - Mendelssohn Works today. 

A masterpiece that represents the songs of the early Romantic period, “On Wings of Song, Op.34-2" is often performed in orchestration without any singing, as it is a piece with luscious melodies that epitomizes Mendelssohn's romanticism. What makes this version exciting to listen to is the interplay of Haruma’s cello and the pianist Wataru Hisasue resonating with their heartfelt sentiments.

From rarely performed Sonatas to "Variations Concertantes," a beautifully melodic concerto, to “On Wings of Song,” Mendelssohn’s best-known piece, and a cello rendition of “Songs Without Words” for solo piano, the album offers a glimpse into various aspects of captivating music of Felix Mendelssohn.

Go to artist details