Choose artist...
Gidon Kremer

Songs Of Fate-Kremerata Baltica,Vida Mikneviciute

Release Date: January 26, 2024

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 This Too Shall Pass  
2 David's Lamentation  
3 Kaddish-Prelude  
4 Penultimate Kaddish  
5 Postlude. The Luminous Lament  
6 Nocturne  
7 Aria , Jewish Children Songs, Op. 13 (Mieczyslaw Weinberg)  
8 No. 2, Breytele  
9 No. 4, Der Yeger  
10 No. 5, Oyfn grinem bergele  
11 KujawiakLignum  
Show all tracks

On Songs of Fate Gidon Kremer approaches scores by Baltic composers Giedrius Kuprevicius, Raminta Šerkšnyte, Jekabs Jancevskis and the Polish composer Mieczyslaw Weinberg, together with his Kremerata Baltica chamber ensemble and soprano Vida Mikneviciute – many of the works captured here appear in premiere recordings. In his performer’s note, Kremer traces the roots of this programme back to both his Jewish heritage and his extensive history of living in the Baltic states, which has and continues to lead to collaborations with countless musicians and composers from the region. The personal connotations are palpable in the music, as Wolfgang Sandner observes in his liner note, confirming: “Gidon Kremer has perhaps never before revealed himself as intimately and as existentially focused as on this recording”.

Kremer has already given Weinberg’s oeuvre much attention in the past decades with recordings of the sonatas for solo violin (ECM 2705), his chamber symphonies Nos. 1-4 (2538/39) as well as the symphony no. 10 along with the concertino op. 42. Trio op. 48 and the sonata No. 3 (ECM 2368/69). Included on Songs of Fate are a selection of Weinberg’s Jewish Songs op. 13, Nocturne, Kujawiak as well as Aria op.9. The pieces demonstrate the lyrical side of the composer’s vast oeuvre, with the Jewish Songs highlighting Vida Mikneviciute’s expressive and resourceful vocal abilities.

Go to artist details