Choose artist...
Fred Hersch

Silent, Listening

Release Date: April 19, 2024

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Star-Crossed Lovers  
2 Night Tidelight  
3 Akrasia  
4 Silent, Listening  
5 Starlight  
6 Aeon  
7 Little Song  
8 The Wind  
9 Volon  
10 Softly, As In A Morning Sunrise  
11 Winter Of My Discontent  
Show all tracks

Silent, Listening is both a highly individual musical offering and an important contribution to ECM’s line of innovative solo piano recordings. It finds US pianist Fred Hersch, one of jazz’s most outstanding soloists, putting a poetic emphasis on alert, open improvisation while also embracing original compositions and a scattering of standard tunes in his album’s graceful creative arc. Interspersing songs and spontaneously composed pieces, Hersch shapes and sustains a musical atmosphere that he describes as “nocturnal”, an atmosphere of heightened sensitivity to sound.

Go to artist details