Choose artist...
Francine Kay

Things Lived And Dreamt

Release Date: January 13, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Josef Suk- Jaro Op. 22a - V roztoužení
Dvorak- Humoresque op. 101 no. 4
Dvorak- Humoresque op. 101 no. 7
Dvorak- Humoresque op. 101 no. 8
Interview with Winnipeg - Classic 107's Chris Wolf
Kapralova Prelude op 13 # 1
Kapralova Prelude op. 13 # 2
Kapralova Prelude op 13 # 3
Kapralova Prelude op. 13 #4
1 Janacek - Sonata 1.X.1905: I. Predtucha 5:47  
2 Sonata 1.X.1905: II. Smrt 7:16  
3 Josef Suk- Jaro Op. 22a no. 5- V roztouzeni´  
4 Humoresques Op. 101: IV. Poco andante 2:32  
5 Humoresques Op. 101: VII. Poco andante e grazioso 3:10  
6 Humoresques Op. 101: VIII. Poco andante 3:03  
7 Things Lived and Dreamt, Op. 30: I. Allegretto moderato 2:13  
8 II. Allegro vivo 1:48  
9 III. Andante sostenuto 3:44  
10 IV. Poco allegretto 3:07  
11 V. Adagio 5:26  
12 VI. Moderato quasi allegretto 3:27  
13 VII. Adagio non tanto 4:27  
14 VIII. Vivace  
15 IX. Poco Andante  
16 X. Adagio  
17 Vitezslava Kapra´lova´- April Preludes op. 13 no. 1  
18 No. 2  
19 No. 3  
20 No. 4  
21 Smetana- Czech Dances 1, JB 1/107Polka N° 2 in A Minor  
Show all tracks

Canadian pianist Francine Kay presents a collection of Czech piano music from the late 1800’s to the first half of the 20th century. This much anticipated recording marks Francine Kay’s return to disc after having recorded three discs for the Analekta label, which received international acclaim.

Kay champions the little known masterpiece by Josef Suk, Things Lived and Dreamt op.30, a set of ten fantastical pieces that Suk himself described as “a sort of artist’s diary”. This recording also shines a light on Vítezslava Kaprálová, whose youthful composition, April Preludes op.13, reveals the brilliance and vitality of a composer whose life was cut tragically short at the age of twenty-five. The great Sonata 1.X.1905 (From the Street) by Leoš Janácek, a composer of extraordinary depth and originality, commemorates the death of a Moravian carpenter who was killed during a demonstration supporting the right to a Czech-speaking University in Brno. This piece runs the full gamut of emotional energy-- its two movements are entitled The Presentiment and The Death. Charming and melodious works by Antonín Dvorák, (including Dvorák's most famous melody in the Humoresque No. 7), Smetana (Polka No.2 in A minor), and a lyrical composition by Suk from Spring op. 22a round out this colorful and intriguing album.

Go to artist details