Choose artist...
Evgueni Galperine

Theory of Becoming

Release Date: June 17, 2022

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 This Town Will Burn Before Dawn  
2 Cold Front  
3 Oumuamua, Space Wanderings  
4 Soudain, le vide  
5 Kaddish  
6 The Wheel Has Come Full Circle  
7 La Lettre d'un disparu  
8 After The Storm  
9 Don’t Tell  
10 Loplop im Wald  
Show all tracks

Evgueni Galperine’s ECM New Series debut is one of the most strikingly original and evocative albums of the year. A composer of Russian and Ukrainian heritage, living in Paris since 1990, Galperine is working with sound, texture and dynamics in new and powerfully expressive ways. As he explains, the sound world of Theory of Becoming represents an “augmented reality of acoustic instruments, created from recordings made with real and virtual instruments. The numerous transformations the instruments undergo allow me to capture their acoustic nature while also adding techniques and colours impossible to produce in reality...” Galperine’s compositions address wide-ranging subjects: from the resilience of hope in the face of destruction to meditations on the journey of the soul, as well as travels through space and through the magical forests of Max Ernst’s paintings. 

Go to artist details