Choose artist...
Emily D'Angelo


Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: October 8, 2021

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Snider: The Lotus Eaters
1 Folk faer andlit by Hildur Gudnadottir  
2 O virtus Sapientae by Hildegard von Bingen arr_ Sarah Kirkland Snider  
3 This world within me is too small by Missy Mazzoli  
4 Caritas by Sarah Kirkland Snider  
5 Hello Lord by Missy Mazzoli  
6 You are the dust by Missy Mazzoli  
7 Dead friend by Sarah Kirkland Snider  
8 Nausicaa by Sarah Kirkland Snider  
9 O frondens virga by Hildegard von Bingen arr Missy Mazzoli  
10 Liour by Hildur Gudnadottir  
11 A Thousand Tongues by Missy Mazzoli  
12 The Lotus Eaters by Sarah Kirkland Snider  
Show all tracks

Concept, character and cool – Emily D'Angelo's debut album on Deutsche Grammophon encompasses everything that comes so naturally to this young Canadian vocalist. Her chosen title for this thoughtfully curated sonic journey comes from Hellenistic rhetoric and sums up the essence of the album: enargeia – in the artist's own words – "a description so vivid it seems to conjure its subject into existence".

D'Angelo has chosen music from the 12th and 21st centuries written by four female composers – Hildegard von Bingen, Hildur Guðnadóttir, Missy Mazzoli andSarah Kirkland Snider – several of whose works are presented in brand-new chamber/electronic arrangements. "Each track is born out of the previous," explains the singer, "as the listener is guided through a progres­sion, a cohesive and exploratory listening experience."

enargeiawas recorded in Berlin between December 2020 and March 2021 in collaboration with das freie orchester Berlin and conductor Jarkko Riihimäki, the Kuss Quartett and Matangi Quartet, and solo instrumentalists Wolfgang Fischer, Rene Flächsenhaar, Mikayel Hakhnazaryan, Frédéric L'Épée, Jonas Niederstadt, Marc Prietzel, Marion Ravot, Christian Vogel andNorbert Wahren. The album will be released on 8 October 2021.


Go to artist details