Choose artist...
Ella Fitzgerald

Ella@The Hollywood Bowl-The Irving Berlin songbook

Release Date: June 24, 2022

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Cheek To Cheek (Live)
Puttin’ On The Ritz (Live)
Melissa Manchester & Ella Fitzgerald 1977 Memorex Commercial
1 The Song Is Ended  
2 You’re Laughing at Me  
3 How Deep Is the Ocean  
4 Heat Wave  
5 Suppertime  
6 Cheek to Cheek  
7 Russian Lullaby  
8 Top Hat White Tie and Tails  
9 I’ve Got My Love to Keep Me Warm  
10 Get Thee Behind Me Satan  
11 Let’s Face the Music And Dance  
12 Always  
13 Puttin’ on the Ritz  
14 Let Yourself Go  
15 Alexander’s Ragtime Band  
Show all tracks

Will Friedwald writes…..On August 16, 1958, just a few months after Ella Fitzgerald recorded her now-classic album, Ella Fitzgerald Sings The Irving Berlin Songbook, The First Lady Of Song performed selections from that album live at the Hollywood Bowl to an adoring, sold-out crowd. Conducted and arranged by Paul Weston, who also arranged and conducted the studio sessions, this concert marked the only time that Ella performed these iconic arrangements live with a full orchestra.

On June 24, Verve/UMe will proudly release the full, never-before-released 15-song performance, aptly titled, Ella At The Hollywood Bowl: The Irving Berlin Songbook, on CD, vinyl, limited edition yellow splatter vinyl, and digitally. This landmark record, discovered in the private collection of producer and Verve Records founder Norman Granz, marks the first time a live Songbook has been released from Ella. It is also significant in that it captures the only time Ella worked in concert with arranger-conductor Paul Weston. And, although she performed regularly at the Hollywood Bowl, this is the first full-length concert by Ella from this iconic venue to be released (notably, Ella was featured prominently on Verve’s Jazz At The Hollywood Bowl album, recorded and released in 1956, the year Granz formed the label). The live tracks were mixed from the original ¼” tapes by Grammy Award-winning producer and musician Gregg Field who played drums for Ella in her later years. The album is rounded out with insightful liner notes about the concert and Ella’s Songbook series by noted author and music critic.

Go to artist details