Choose artist...
Elina Garanca

When Night Falls...

Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: March 15, 2024

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Elina Garanca recording Mozart
1 R. STRAUSS Wiegenlied  
2 HUMPERDINCK Abendsegen  
3 DE FALLA Asturiana  
4 MONTSALVATGE Cancio´n de cuna para dormir a un negrito  
5 BERIO I wonder as I wander  
6 BERIO Loosin yelav  
7 TOSTI Sogno  
8 GALLARDO DEL REY Nana criolla  
9 GALLARDO DEL REY Cancio´n de cuna  
10 PAULS Mersedesas dziesma  
11 BRAHMS Wiegenlied (“Guten Abend, gut’ Nacht”) op. 49 no. 4  
12 KALNINS Aijaja Actinas  
13 ZALITS Pelit velc miedzinu  
14 KALNIN¸SS Supl¸a dziesma  
15 SCHUBERT Nacht und Traume D 827B  
16 PAULS Vientul¸ais namins  
17 PAULS Aicinajums (1)  
18 TRADITIONAL Aija¯, zuzu laca berni  
Show all tracks

Full of ambivalent sensations, colours and shades, night-time has long been special to Elina Garanca. “For some people, the night can be full of fear and uncertainty. It’s a time when you’re alone and confronted with yourself,” she says. And yet it can also bring peace. “The world calms down and falls asleep, and we humans can find calm as well.” Garanca’s new Deutsche Grammophon album, When Night Falls ..., set for release on World Sleep Day (15 March 2024), embraces all these nuances, reflecting the night from twilight to the darkness of the early hours, in songs with orchestral, chamber or solo-instrument accompaniment. The mezzo-soprano has chosen her selection of pieces with a view to conjuring “that time of day when you withdraw from the world, come home, close the door and focus exclusively on your own life, in a safe environment”. 

This is the guiding thought behind the dramatic arc of When Night Falls … The album takes listeners from the rich colours of sunset, a time when the hustle and bustle of the day may still be reverberating, to the intimacy and silence of the night. It opens with three works for voice and orchestra – Richard Strauss’s Wiegenlied (“Lullaby”: “Träume, träume, du mein süßes Leben” – “Dream, dream, you sweet life of mine”), Falla’s Asturiana and the Abendsegen, or “Evening Prayer”, from Humperdinck’s opera Hänsel und Gretel, in which Garanca sings both parts, thanks to overdubbing, which she calls a “fascinating experiment”. The singer is accompanied in all three by the Orquesta Filarmónica de Gran Canaria, conducted by Karel Mark Chichon.
Garanca also performs a number of songs with a chamber ensemble. In two of Berio’s Folk Songs she is accompanied by the Berlin Music Ensemble, while for Brahms’s Wiegenlied (“Guten Abend, gut’ Nacht” – “Good evening, good night”) she is joined by oboist Albrecht Mayer and pianist Malcolm Martineau, who accompanies several other pieces as well, including Schubert’s Nacht und Träume.

Go to artist details