Choose artist...
Eldbjorg Hemsing


Sony Masterworks
Release Date: February 3, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Eldbjorg Hemsing chats with Winnipeg 107's Chis Wolf
Interview w/ WOSU
Jacob Shea: The Arctic Suite - Sea Ice Melting
1 A Hidden Life  
2 Dawn  
3 I. Frozen World  
4 II. Aurora  
5 III. Sunrise  
6 IV. A Rush of Life  
7 La Melancolie (Arr. for Violin and Orchestra from Moments of Solitude by Ben Palmer)  
8 Last Spring (Arr. for Violin and Orchestra from Op. 33 No. 2 by Ben Palmer  
9 Snowflakes (Arr. for Violin and Orchestra from Morceaux, Op. 57 by Ben Palmer  
10 The Return of the Sun  
11 Under the Arctic Moon  
12 V. Polar Winds  
13 Varsg (Arr. for Violin and Orchestra by Ben Palmer)  
14 VI. Sea Ice Melting  
15 Whispering  
Show all tracks

The Sony Classical debut album “Arctic” from internationally acclaimed Norwegian violinist Eldbjørg Hemsing is a musical journey through the Arctic. It features newly composed music by composer stars such as Jacob Shea (“The Blue Planet”) and Frode Fjellheim (“Frozen”). It is scheduled for release on 3 February 2023.

The collaboration between Sony Classical and concert violinist Eldbjørg Hemsing starts off with a unique concept album. “Arctic” is a musical journey through a stunningly beautiful region and a celebration of a fragile and largely unexplored ecosystem threatened by climate change.

“The Arctic is often misrepresented as stark and uninhabitable wasteland,” Hemsing explains. “Yet it’s a region of matchless beauty abounding in life, one that magically illustrates how all things cohere in fragile cycles. ‘Arctic’ is a musical journey through this unique and endangered natural habitat. I want this project to show people how magnificent and deserving of protection this landscape is, and to point out the threat of climate change, which affects us all.”

Go to artist details