Choose artist...
Dickon Hinchliffe

The Lost Daughter - Soundtrack From Netflix Film

Milan Records - Sony Masterworks
Release Date: December 17, 2021

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Leda  
2 Leda Swims  
3 Glass of Water  
4 Mina  
5 I'm Working  
6 Octopus  
7 Pine Cone  
8 Broken Glass  
9 The Offer  
10 The Affair  
11 Dance Party  
12 The Great Wings  
13 Playground  
14 Do You Need A Hand?  
15 Unnatural Mother  
16 Let Me Tell You All About It  
Show all tracks

Milan Records today releases The Lost Daughter (Soundtrack From The Netflix Film) with music by Dickon Hinchliffe (Winter’s BoneLocke). The album features a timeless and atmospheric original score by Hinchliffe for the drama adapted for the screen by Maggie Gyllenhaal, making her feature directorial debut. The score has already garnered critical acclaim from press including The Hollywood ReporterDeadlineIndieWireScreen Daily and more, with Deadline calling Hinchliffe’s music “exceptional and vibrant.” The soundtrack arrives today ahead of Netflix’s theatrical release of the film on December 17 and streaming release on December 31.

Of the soundtrack, Dickon Hinchliffe says, “Scoring ‘The Lost Daughter’ was a unique creative challenge. Director Maggie Gyllenhaal’s idea was for the music to sound like a ‘found’ record - a vintage piece of vinyl that would become the score for the film.  The challenge was to combine this feeling of spontaneity with the complex emotional language of the film and its central character Leda. I wrote a main theme for Leda, and then variations of it that engage with her constantly shifting psychological state. Other themes grew from the flashbacks of her younger self dealing with the emotional pressures of motherhood and her growing unease as these pressures return in the present.  We used vintage recording techniques and equipment at Abbey Road Studios to create an analogue sound influenced by film scores, jazz and popular music from the 1950’s and 60’s.”

Go to artist details