Choose artist...
Dee Dee Bridgewater

Memphis. Yes, I'm Ready

Sony Masterworks | OKeh

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



1 Yes, I'm Ready  
2 Giving Up  
3 I Can't Get Next To You  
4 Going Down Slow  
5 Why? (Am I Treated So Bad)  
6 B.A.B.Y.  
7 Thrill Is Gone  
8 The Sweeter He Is  
9 Can't Stand The Rain  
10 Don't Be Cruel  
11 Hound Dog  
12 Try A Little Tenderness  
13 (Take My Hand) Precious Lord  
Show all tracks

Inspired by Bridgewater's Return to Her Birth City of Memphis and the Exploration of Her Musical Roots and Influences

Every picture tells a story; every journey begins differently.  The story of Dee Dee Bridgewater's stunning new album, Memphis...Yes, I'm Ready, begins in that city, where she was born at Collins Chapel Hospital, located not far from where the album was recorded at Producer Willie Mitchell's historic Royal Studios.  Dee Dee's father, a trumpet player affectionately known as "Matt the Platter Cat" was a DJ at WDIA, the top Memphis radio station, and even when the family moved to neighboring Flint, Michigan, the young Dee Dee continued to listen to the great sounds of the Memphis music scene by tuning-in late night from across state lines.  And oh what a music scene it was!

Go to artist details