Choose artist...
Daniil Trifonov

Bach - The Art Of Life

Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: October 8, 2021

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Interview w/ WRTI
Daniil Trifonov - Living the Classical Life:
Daniil Trifonov 2018 debut in Taiwan
1 J_C_ BACH I_ Allegro [Sonata No_ 5 in A major, Op_ 17, No_ 5]  
2 J_C_ BACH I_ Allegro [Sonata No_ 5 in A major, Op_ 17, No_ 5]  
3 J_C_ BACH II_ Presto [Sonata No_ 5 in A major, Op_ 17, No_ 5]  
4 W_F_ BACH No_ 8 Polonaise in E Minor [12 Polonaises, F_ 12]  
5 C_P_E_ BACH IV_ Rondo in C Minor, H_ 283  
6 J_C_F_ BACH Thema (Allegretto) [Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman']  
7 J_C_F_ BACH Var_ 1 [Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman']  
8 J_C_F_ BACH Var_ 2 [Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman']  
9 J_C_F_ BACH Var_ 3 [Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman']  
10 J_C_F_ BACH Var_ 4 (Minore) [Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman']  
11 J_C_F_ BACH Var_ 5 (Maggiore) [Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman']  
12 J_C_F_ BACH Var_ 6 (Tempo di Minuetto) [Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman']  
13 J_C_F_ BACH Var_ 7 [Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman']  
14 J_C_F_ BACH Var_ 8 (Schw?bisch, Non allegro) [Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman']  
15 J_C_F_ BACH Var_ 9 (Minore, Tranquillo) [Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman']  
16 J_C_F_ BACH Var_ 10 (Maggiore, Tempo I) [Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman']  
17 J_C_F_ BACH Var_ 11 [Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman']  
18 J_C_F_ BACH Var_ 12 (Alla Siciliano) [Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman']  
19 J_C_F_ BACH Var_ 13 [Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman']  
20 J_C_F_ BACH Var_ 14 [Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman']  
21 J_C_F_ BACH Var_ 15 (Pi? andante) [Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman']  
22 J_C_F_ BACH Var_ 16 (Tempo I) [Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman']  
23 J_C_F_ BACH Var_ 17 (Minore) [Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman']  
24 J_C_F_ BACH Var_ 18 (Maggiore, Allegro) [Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman']  
25 J_S_ BACH Musette in D Major, BWV Anh_ 126  
26 J_S_ BACH Aria Gedenke doch, mein Geist, zur?cke, BWV 509  
27 J_S_ BACH Minuet in A Minor, BWV Anh_ 120  
28 J_S_ BACH Minuet in F Major, BWV Anh_ 113  
29 J_S_ BACH Polonaise in F Major, BWV Anh_ 117b  
30 J_S_ BACH [Polonaise] in D Minor, BWV Anh_ 128  
31 J_S_ BACH Choral 'Gib dich zufrieden und sei stille', BWV 511  
32 PETZOLD Minuet in G Major, BWV Anh_ 114  
33 J_S_ BACH Minuet in G Major, BWV Anh_ 116  
34 C_P_E_ BACH Polonaise in G Minor, BWV Anh_ 125  
35 J_S_ BACH Minuet in C Minor, BWV Anh_ 121  
36 STOLZEL Aria 'Bist du bei mir' (Formerly Attrib_ J_S_ Bach as BWV 508  
37 BRAHMS V_ Chaconne (After Violin Partita No_ 2 in D Minor, BWV 1004  
38 J_S_ BACH Contrapunctus 1 [The Art Of Fugue, BWV 1080]  
39 J_S_ BACH Contrapunctus 2 [The Art Of Fugue, BWV 1080]  
40 J_S_ BACH Contrapunctus 3 [The Art Of Fugue, BWV 1080]  
41 J_S_ BACH Contrapunctus 4 [The Art Of Fugue, BWV 1080]  
42 J_S_ BACH Contrapunctus 5 [The Art Of Fugue, BWV 1080]  
43 J_S_ BACH Contrapunctus 6 [per Diminutionem] in Stylo Francese  
44 J_S_ BACH Contrapunctus 7 per Augmentationem et Diminutionem  
45 J_S_ BACH Contrapunctus 8 [The Art Of Fugue, BWV 1080]  
46 J_S_ BACH Contrapunctus 9 alla Duodecima [The Art Of Fugue, BWV 1080]  
47 J_S_ BACH Contrapunctus 10 alla Decima [The Art Of Fugue, BWV 1080]  
48 J_S_ BACH Contrapunctus 11 [The Art Of Fugue, BWV 1080]  
49 J_S_ BACH Contrapunctus [12] [rectus] [The Art Of Fugue, BWV 1080]  
50 J_S_ BACH Contrapunctus 12 inversus [The Art of Fugue, BWV 1080]  
51 J_S_ BACH Contrapunctus [13] [rectus] [The Art of Fugue, BWV 1080]  
52 J_S_ BACH Contrapunctus [13] inversus [The Art of Fugue, BWV 1080]  
53 J_S_ BACH Canon [in Hypodiatessaron]_ per Augmentationem in Contrario Motu  
54 J_S_ BACH Canon in Hypodiapason (Canon alla Ottava) [The Art of Fugue, BWV 1080]  
55 J_S_ BACH Canon alla Decima_ Contrapunto alla Terza [The Art of Fugue, BWV 1080]  
56 J_S_ BACH Canon alla Duodecima_ in Contrapunto alla Quinta, BWV 1080 [The Art of Fugue, BWV 1080]  
57 J_S_ BACH, TRIFONOV [Contrapunctus 14] (Compl_ Trifonov) [The Art Of Fugue, BWV 1080]  
58 J_S_ BACH Jesu, Joy of Man_s Desiring  
Show all tracks

"This album is, in many ways, about love: the romantic love between Johann Sebastian and his first and second wives; familial love between parents and their children; and love for the Creator."   Daniil Trifonov

"…  a prodigious live performance of arguably the least performable and unarguably greatest contrapuntal exercise in the history of music, Bach's The Art of the Fugue, by Daniil Trifonov … he is already one of the world's most remarkable pianists. The legend grows."  Los Angeles Timesconcert review

Daniil Trifonov presents his new Deutsche Grammophon solo recording, Bach – The Art of Life. Centred around Johann Sebastian Bach's late masterpiece The Art of Fugue, the new double album reflects Trifonov's insight into the family life and music-making of one of the greatest composers of all time. Works by four of Johann Sebastian's sons, as well as two pieces known to have been Bach family favourites are also included in a programme taking in everything from lighthearted dance-like pieces to the mournful majesty of the Chaconne in D minor. Already renowned for his recordings of the Romantic repertoire, Daniil Trifonov brings the same magical combination of vitality, sensitivity and flawless technical command to these works of an earlier age. Bach – The Art of Life will be released on 8 October 2021.

Go to artist details