Choose artist...
Daniel Hope


Deutsche Grammophon

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Danny Boy (Arr. Daniel Hope) (Live from OPUS Klassik, 2021)
Violinist Daniel Hope performs video game music from Honkai: Star Rail
1 Ramirez_Misa Criolla 1_ Kyrie  
2 Gloria  
3 Credo  
4 Sanctus  
5 Agnus Dei  
6 Dowland_Time stands still  
7 Schubert_Die Nacht  
8 Giazotto_Adagio in Sol Minore per Archi e Organo  
9 El-Khoury_Byblos, The Old City  
10 Pa¨rt_Spiegel im Spiegel  
11 Elgar_Nimrod  
12 Foster_Ah! May the Red Rose Live Always  
13 Traditional_Danny Boy  
14 Andre, Schwandt_Dream a little Dream  
15 Traditional_Amazing Grace  
Show all tracks

Daniel Hope's latest album for Deutsche Grammophon grew spontaneously out of last year's first coronavirus lockdown, a time of dislocation and uncertainty for most, suffering and grief for many. Hope is a deeply personal, strikingly distinctive musical anthology, one which captures the spirit of community and compassion that music helped cultivate during the pandemic.

"I was determined to keep going and to be productive, in spite of everything," Hope recalls. "This album is my attempt to project a glimmer of hope and give people, including myself, something to hold on to. During lockdown, singing – both communal and professional – was suddenly forbidden. That was devastating. And yet people continued to sing from their balconies or on Zoom streams – that, for me, was a beacon of hope. And it gave me the idea to create an album that focused on song and the human voice, featuring music largely based on songs or sung melodies."

Go to artist details