Choose artist...
Daniel Hope

America w/ Roberts Trio, Denalane, Zurich Chamber

Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: February 4, 2022

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Weill: September Song
Gramophone Podcast: Daniel Hope on his new album 'America'
Violinist Daniel Hope performs video game music from Honkai: Star Rail
1 GEORGE GERSHWIN: Suite for Violin, Jazz Trio and Orch. / Fascinating Rhythm from Lady, Be Good!  
2 Summertime from Porgy and Bess  
3 ‘S Wonderful from Funny Face  
4 The Man I Love from Strike Up The Band  
5 I Got Rhythm from Girl Crazy  
6 SAM COOKE: A Change Is Gonna Come  
7 LEONARD BERNSTEIN: West Side Story Suite for Violin and String Orchestra / America  
8 Maria  
9 Tonight  
10 Somewhere  
11 A Boy Like That  
12 I Have a Love  
13 Mambo  
14 FLORENCE PRICE: Adoration arr. for Violin and String Orchestra  
15 AARON COPLAND: At the River from Old American Songs, Set 2 arr. for Violin and String Orchestra  
16 Hoe-Down from Rodeo  
17 DUKE ELLINGTON: Come Sunday from Black, Brown and Beige arr. for Violin and String Orchestra  
18 KURT WEILL: American Song Suite arr. for Violin and Chamber Orchestra  
19 September Song from Knickerbocker Holiday  
20 My Ship from Lady in the Dark  
21 Speak Low from One Touch of Venus  
22 Mack the Knife from The Threepenny Opera  
23 SAMUEL A. WARD: America the Beautiful arr. for Violin and Chamber Orchestra  
Show all tracks

Berlin-based violinist Daniel Hope’s latest album takes a deep dive into the rich repertoire of American music, exploring its roots and distinctive qualities. “We know a piece is from America the moment we hear it,” says Hope. “But what makes music sound American?” Daniel Hope – America provides some answers, presenting works by composers as diverse as Leonard Bernstein, Sam Cooke, Aaron Copland, Duke Ellington, George Gershwin, Florence Price, Samuel A. Ward and Kurt Weill in outstanding new classical and jazz arrangements by Paul Bateman for solo violin in different combinations, with vocals, piano, jazz trio, string/chamber orchestra and percussion. The album is set for release by Deutsche Grammophon on 4 February 2022.

As on his recent recordings Hope and Belle Epoque, Daniel Hope is joined by the Zürcher Kammerorchester, of which he has been Music Director since 2016. In addition, he welcomes an all-star line-up of guest artists, from German soul and R&B singer Joy Denalane, Brazilian pianist Sylvia Thereza and German jazz guitarist Joscho Stephan to acclaimed American jazz pianist and composer Marcus Roberts and his trio, which also includes Rodney Jordan on bass and Jason Marsalis on drums. 
Hope and Roberts have performed together on several occasions, setting creative sparks flying as hosts of a “piano trio battle” that pits Haydn, Ravel and Shostakovich against Thelonious Monk, Charlie Parker and Roberts himself. “Usually the classical and jazz worlds don’t really converge, but we managed to make it happen as a musical dialogue,” says Hope. “Now we’re doing it again on this record.”

Go to artist details