Choose artist...
Daniel Barenboim

Schumann - The Symphonies w/Staatskapelle Berlin

Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: November 4, 2022

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


The Frost Interview - Daniel Barenboim: 'Spaces of dialogue'
1 Schumann: Symphony No. 1 in B flat major, Op. 38 'Spring' / I. Andante  
2 II. Larghetto  
3 III. Scherzo. Molto vivace  
4 IV. Allegro animato e grazioso  
5 Schumann: Symphony No. 2 in C major, Op. 61 / I. Sostenuto assai  
6 II. Scherzo. Allegro vivace  
7 III. Adagio espressivo  
8 IV. Allegro molto vivace  
9 Schumann: Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 97 'Rhenish' / I. Lebhaft  
10 II. Scherzo. Sehr mäßig  
11 III. Nicht schnell  
12 IV. Feierlich  
13 V. Lebhaft  
14 Schumann: Symphony No. 4 in D minor, Op. 120 / I. Ziemlich langsam - Lebhaft  
15 II. Romanze. Ziemlich langsam  
16 III. Scherzo. Lebhaft – Trio  
17 IV. Langsam - Lebhaft - Presto  
Show all tracks

Deutsche Grammophon is proud to be honouring the supreme artistry of Daniel Barenboim as he approaches his 80th birthday on 15 November. The great pianist and conductor’s remarkable legacy of recordings for the Yellow Label remains the focus of a major campaign comprising three albums, two DG Stage concerts and a series of e-video releases. Today, DG will release Barenboim’s latest readings of Schumann’s four symphonies, recorded live with the Staatskapelle Berlin over three evenings at the Staatsoper Berlin and Philharmonie Berlin. The album will be available as a 3-CD set and in digital format, including a Dolby Atmos version.
“I am grateful that Deutsche Grammophon has chosen to mark the year of my 80th birthday with recent performances as well as an album made during my early years with the label,” comments Daniel Barenboim. “I believe these recordings show how music exists as a world in itself, never the same twice, always changing, no matter how many times we perform a particular composition. This is the great privilege of being a musician, the chance to learn new things every time we play the same piece. And it’s a further privilege to be able to share this experience with audiences.”

Go to artist details