Choose artist...
Daniel Barenboim


Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: March 25, 2022

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



The Frost Interview - Daniel Barenboim: 'Spaces of dialogue'
1 Schubert From 4 Impromptus, op. 90, D. 899 / No. 3 in G Flat Major. Andante  
2 Schubert From Moments Musicaux, op. 94, D. 780 / No. 3 in F Minor. Allegro moderato  
3 Robert Schumann From Kinderszenen, Op. 15 / VII. Träumerei  
4 Robert Schumann From Fantasiestücke, op. 12 / Des Abends  
5 II. Aufschwung  
6 III. Warum?  
7 VII. Traumes Wirren  
8 Franz Liszt From Consolations, S. 172 / No. 3 Lento placido in D Flat Major  
9 Frédéric Chopin From Nocturnes, Op. 15 / No. 2 in F Sharp Major. Larghetto  
10 Frédéric Chopin From 12 Études, op. 25 / No. 1 in A Flat Major "Aeolian Harp"  
11 No. 2 in F Minor "The Bees"  
12 No. 7 in C Sharp Minor "Cello"  
13 Frédéric Chopin From 12 Études, op. 10 No. 4 in C Sharp Minor "Torrent"  
14 No. 6 in E Flat Minor "Lament"  
15 No. 8 in F Major "Sunshine"  
16 Claude Debussy From Suite bergamasque, L. 75 / III. Clair de lune  
17 Isaac Albéniz Ftom España, op. 165 / II. Tango  
Show all tracks

Deutsche Grammophon is set to honour the supreme artistry of Daniel Barenboim throughout the coming year as he approaches his 80th birthday next November. The great pianist and conductor’s remarkable legacy of recordings for the Yellow Label will be the focus of a major campaign comprising three albums, two DG Stage concerts and a series of e-video releases. The anniversary celebrations begin on 31 December 2021 with the release of an e-single of Debussy’s Clair de lune, one of the highlights of Maestro Barenboim’s first DG album of 2022.  “I am grateful that Deutsche Grammophon has chosen to mark the year of my 80th birthday with recent performances as well as an album made during my early years with the label,” comments Daniel Barenboim. “I believe these recordings show how music exists as a world in itself, never the same twice, always changing, no matter how many times we perform a particular composition. This is the great privilege of being a musician, the chance to learn new things every time we play the same piece. And it’s a further privilege to be able to share this experience with audiences.”

The tribute begins with a brand-new selection of the pianist’s favourite encores, released on 25 March. Specially recorded in Barenboim’s Pierre Boulez Saal in Berlin, Encores features miniature masterpieces by Albéniz, Chopin, Debussy, Liszt, Schubert and Schumann. These six composers, long close to Barenboim’s heart, give an idea of the sheer variety of his vast repertoire, and each piece is conveyed in his inimitably idiomatic and communicative style. Encores will be followed on 29 July by the reissue of his sublime interpretations of Mendelssohn’s Lieder ohne Worte (“Songs Without Words”), which originally came out in 1974 as a 3-LP set. Finally, Barenboim’s latest readings of Schumann’s four symphonies, recorded live with the Staatskapelle Berlin over three evenings at the Staatsoper Berlin and Philharmonie Berlin, will be issued on 7 October.

Go to artist details