Choose artist...
Chineke! Orchestra


Decca Records
Release Date: September 30, 2022

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Samuel Coleridge-Taylor - “Othello” Orchestral Suite, Op. 79  
2 Avril Coleridge-Taylor - Sussex Landscape, Op. 27  
3 Samuel Coleridge-Taylor - African Suite, Op. 35  
4 Samuel Coleridge-Taylor - Ballade in A minor, Op. 33  
5 Samuel Coleridge-Taylor - Petite Suite de Concert, Op. 77  
6 Samuel Coleridge-Taylor - Concerto for Violin & Orchestra in G minor, Op. 80  
7 Samuel Coleridge-Taylor - Romance in G major, Op. 39  
8 Samuel Coleridge-Taylor - Nonet in F minor, Op. 2  
Show all tracks

On 30 September, 2022, the Chineke! Orchestra will release a new album, Coleridge-Taylor. The album features music by the celebrated African-British composer Samuel Coleridge-Taylor with an appearance by award-winning US violinist Elena Urioste, plus a world premiere recording of a work by Coleridge-Taylor’s daughter Avril Coleridge-Taylor.

Coleridge-Taylor will be the first release on Chineke! Records, the newly created partnership between Decca and the Chineke! Orchestra, Europe’s first professional majority Black and ethnically diverse orchestra.

The release commemorates the 110th anniversary of the composer’s death (1st September 1912). The album includes the famous Violin Concerto in G minor which was originally written for Minnie “Maud” Powell, a champion of music by African-American and female composers, first performed days after the composer’s death. Another highlight is the 1898 African Suite, based on the ground-breaking poetry of the African-American poet Paul Lawrence Dunbar, a major influence on Coleridge-Taylor taking inspiration from the ideas of Pan-Africanism.

Go to artist details