Choose artist...
Catalyst Quartet

Uncovered Vol. 1 - Samuel Coleridge-Taylor

Azica Records
Release Date: February 5, 2021

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



CTP - SQ No. 1>Philip Glass>Bach>Piazzolla>Schubert
Interview with 90.1WRTI: Philadelphia
We are the Catalyst Quartet
1 Samuel Coleridge-Taylor: Quintet in G minor for Piano and Strings / Allegro con moto  
2 Larghetto  
3 Scherzo  
4 Allegro molto  
5 Samuel Coleridge-Taylor: Fantasiestucke Op.5 / Prelude  
6 Serenade  
7 Humoresque  
8 Minuet & Trio  
9 Dance  
10 Samuel Coleridge-Taylor: Quintet in F sharp minor for Clarinet and Strings, Op.10 / Allegro energico  
11 Allegro energico  
12 Larghetto affettuoso  
13 Scherzo  
Show all tracks

On Friday, February 5, 2021, GRAMMY Award-winning Catalyst Quartet releases UNCOVERED Volume 1 on Azica Records. The first of a multi-volume set, Volume 1 features the works of Samuel Coleridge-Taylor including his Quintet in G minor for Pianoand Strings with pianist Stewart Goodyear, Fantasiestück, and Quintet in F sharp minor with clarinetist Anthony McGill.

UNCOVERED Volume 2 will feature the works of Florence Price and Volume 3 and beyond will feature Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson, William Grant Still, and George Walker among others.

Catalyst Quartet poses, "Over the course of time there have been many overlooked artists in classical music, especially because of their race or gender. It is important to acknowledge that we have not yet heard the whole story due to this sidelining of musical voices. Composers like Samuel Coleridge-Taylor, Florence Price, and Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson have contributed beautifully crafted work to the repertoire but are not widely celebrated because quality recordings and performances of their music are rare or non existent. With our next recording project we are helping to change this unfortunate reality."

Go to artist details