Choose artist...
Carolin Widmann

L' Aurore

Release Date: August 12, 2022

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Spiritus sanctus vivificans vita - Hildegard von Bingen  
2 Fantaisie concertante - George Enescu / Sherban Lupu  
3 A Lullaby for Lalit - George Benjamin  
4 A Canon for Sally - George Benjamin  
5 Lauer Lied - George Benjamin  
6 L'Aurore - Eugène Ysaÿe  
7 Danse rustique - Eugène Ysaÿe  
8 Spiritus sanctus vivificans vita - Hildegard von Bingen  
9 Allemanda - Johann Sebastian Bach  
10 Corrente - Johann Sebastian Bach  
11 Sarabanda - Johann Sebastian Bach  
12 Giga - Johann Sebastian Bach  
13 Ciaccona - Johann Sebastian Bach  
Show all tracks

L’Aurore is Carolin Widmann’s seventh recording for the New Series and her first solo violin disc for the label, exploring a characteristically wide arc of composition with élan and imagination. In this fascinating recital, Widmann sets out to document the expressive potential of the violin in a programme that concludes with a radiant account of Johann Sebastian Bach’s Partita in D minor.

At the album’s core, there are some major discoveries to be made, not least in Romanian composer George Enescu’s rarely-played Fantaisie Concertante, written in 1932. : “How is one able to notate something that sounds so free, so visionary?” Widmann reflects in an interview with Max Nyffeler in the CD booklet. “The melody unfolds improvisationally, as it were: the piece feels like a sweeping melisma.” Throughout the unbroken fifteen-minute duration of the Fantaisie Concertante, tension and intensity are maintained.

Enescu, like Bartók before him, drew inspiration from the folk music heritage of his homeland, bringing its colours and energies into his multi-layered music. Widmann also perceives and underlines a cross-connection between Enescu and Belgian composer Eugène Ysaÿe, whose Sonata No. 5, written in 1923, embraces a swirling “Danse rustique” in its second movement.

Go to artist details