Choose artist...
Bruckner Orchestra Linz

ISANG YUN - Sunrise Falling


Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Matt Haimovitz Discovers Isang Yun
1 Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra / I  
2 cadenzas  
3 II  
4 III  
5 Interludium A  
6 Glissees for Solo Cello / I  
7 II  
8 III  
9 IV  
10 Fanfare & Memorial  
11 Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 1 / I  
12 II  
13 III  
14 Kontraste. Two Pieces for Violin solo / I  
15 II  
16 6 Gasa for Violin and Piano  
Show all tracks

Uncompromising in his life as he was in his music, Korean composer Isang Yun (1917–95) held fast to his dream of a united people, even as he was unjustly accused of espionage by North Korea and sentenced to imprisonment and death. From this life of unimaginable oppression and torture emerges music of raw emotional power, now heard on ISANG YUN: Sunrise Falling, a centennial commemoration of Yun's life and music from the PENTATONE Oxingale Series. Maestro Dennis Russell Davies, a longtime collaborator and advocate for Yun, curates the program and conducts the Bruckner Orchester Linz, with remarkable, searing solo performances from cellist Matt Haimovitz, violinist Yumi Hwang-Williams, and pianist Maki Namekawa. Called an "important, courageous release" by Deutschlandfunk Kultur, this is the first in a new series of composer portraits from the PENTATONE Oxingale series.

Go to artist details