Choose artist...
Brandee Younger

Brand New Life

Release Date: April 7, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


You’re A Girl For One Man Only
Running Game (Visualizer)
Positive Vibes Only - Stevie Wonder's cover 'If It's Magic'
KNKX Studio Session
Brandee Younger: NPR Tiny Desk Concert
''Moving Target on the Tamron Hall Show
'Lift Every Voice and Sing'
'Essence of Ruby'
1 You're A Girl For One Man Only  
2 Brand New Life (feat. Mumu Fresh)  
3 Come Live With Me (Interlude)  
4 Livin' and Lovin' in My Own Way (feat. Pete Rock)  
5 Running Game Intro  
6 Running Game  
7 Moving Target  
8 Dust (feat. Meshell N’degeocello)  
9 The Windmills of Your Mind (feat. 9th Wonder)  
10 If It’s Magic  
Show all tracks

GRAMMY®-nominated harpist and composer Brandee Younger announces her new album, Brand New Life (Impulse! Records), set for release on April 7th. Out now, the first single off of the Dorothy Ashby inspired album is the previously unrecorded and evocative Ashby composition, “You’re A Girl For One Man Only.” 

Produced by multi-hyphenate drummer and composer Makaya Mccraven, on Brand New Life, Younger celebrates one of her greatest inspirations, iconic jazz harpist and composer Dorothy Ashby. Ashby is widely credited with having asserted the harp’s place in contemporary music, showcasing the traditionally-classical instrument on groundbreaking albums such as Afro-Harping and Dorothy’s Harp. Her unparalleled body of work has continued to be influential for decades and has been heavily sampled and transposed across jazz, hip-hop, and R&B, by artists including Jay-Z, J. Dilla, Pete Rock and Flying Lotus.

Brand New Life is a stunning amalgamation of past and present, combining original works from Younger, select reinterpretations of Ashby’s work, and previously-unrecorded compositions by Ashby. Younger was initially introduced to Ashby’s work through the many hip-hop artists who sampled her music, and now collaborates with some of those very artists on Brand New Life, including the legendary Pete Rock and 9th Wonder. Brand New Life also includes features by Meshell N’degeocello, Mumu Fresh, and production by drummer and composer  Makaya McCraven. Younger says of the album, “Creating this album has been a longtime dream of mine. I really had a lot of living to do before being able to execute it, genuinely. The finished product is truly representative of where I am now and it is an honor to convey that through the compositions of one of my heroes.”

Go to artist details