Choose artist...
Bobo Stenson Trio


Release Date: March 17, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 You shall plant a tree  
2 Unquestioned answer - Charles Ives in memoriam  
3 Spring  
4 Kingdom of coldness  
5 Communion psalm  
6 The red flower  
7 Ky and beautiful madame Ky  
8 Valsette op. 40-1  
9 You shall plant a tree (var.)  
Show all tracks

The current incarnation of Bobo Stenson’s Trio, with Anders Jormin on bass and percussionist Jon Fält, has been active for almost two decades now, during the course of which they’ve recorded four albums – including this new one. The first, Cantando (2008), further investigated Bobo’s fluent ability to cover a wide range of influences and idioms, seamlessly integrating the new configuration into his personal sound from the start. The record prompted The Guardian to say, “few contemporary jazz groups sustain an atmosphere as evocatively as Swedish pianist Stenson’s trio, or conjure so many moods across a variety of material from Ornette Coleman to Alban Berg”. Praise continued with follow-up Indicum (2012), The New York Times noting that Bobo “is rightly heralded for his subtleties of touch and mood”, and then again with Contra La Indecision in 2018, which BBC Music Magazine called a “beautiful session”, proving ”that there is still much to be explored and revealed within this format.” More revelations and proof of the trio’s distinguished art are ever-present on Sphere.

Go to artist details