Choose artist...
BBC National Orchestra of Wales-Andrew Constantine

Elgar, Chadwick

Orchid Classics

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio
1 Sir Edward Elgar: Falstaff - Symphonic Study in C minor, Op.68  
2 Falstaff and Prince Henry 3.02  
3 What's the matter? 3.28  
4 Eastcheap the robbery at Gadshill - The Boar?s Head ? revelry and sleep 13.25  
5 Dream interlude: Jack Falstaff 2.37  
6 Come, sir, which men shall I have? 1.43  
7 Falstaff's March 4.12  
8 Interlude: Shallow's orchard 2.44  
9 Sir John, thy tender lambkin now is king 2.24  
10 King Henry V's progress 9:25  
11 George Whitefield Chadwick: Intro Tam O'Shanter 4.32  
12 Tam O'Shanter 4.32  
Show all tracks

Many of you might be coming to Elgar's great masterpiece Falstaff for the very first time – I truly hope so! It has, undeniably, had a harder time working its way into the consciousness of the ‘Elgar-lover' than most of his other great works. Often I've felt that this is a question that the cognoscenti simply don't want to wrestle with; ‘how could it possibly be a challenge to comprehend?' Well, perhaps it's simply down to the fact that there is a dramatic and wordless narrative that is, initially, difficult to grasp. As Elgar himself identified the four main sections of the work in his note on Falstaff, and also the sections of the Shakespearean drama that they represent, it seemed a logical extension to me to contextualize the music by adding passages of dialogue from the great bard's, and Elgar's, inspiration,Henry IV Part 1 and Part 2. With the wonderful contributions of Timothy West and Samuel West, I feel rather vindicated in this view, and I very much hope that its inclusion enhances your enjoyment of this musical masterpiece.

Go to artist details