Choose artist...

the WIND deluxe

Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: October 7, 2022

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



1 Day Dawns in Your Right Eye  
2 Rose in Abstract  
3 La Vagabonde  
4 Landlessness  
5 Evening  
6 The Myth  
7 V  
8 Ne Plus Ultra  
9 Nos  
10 Vent Pontian  
11 The Crush  
12 Night Falls in Your Left  
13 Rose In Abstract - Piano Version  
14 Arles  
15 Otherness  
16 Nos Nos  
17 La Vagabonde - Joseph Shabason Remix  
18 Rose in Abstract - Portico Quartet Remix  
19 Nos - C_B_ Rework  
Show all tracks

Balmorhea’s Deutsche Grammophon debut album, The Wind, moved reviewers and listeners alike with its contemplative blend of ambient and electronic sounds. The Wind – Deluxe, set for digital release on 22 July 2022, offers the chance to discover four previously unreleased tracks from the Texas-based duo’s original sessions. It also includes remixes byCanadian avant-garde composer and multi-instrumentalist Joseph Shabason and the London-based Portico Quartet, together with Christian Badzura’s elegiac rework of “Nos”.

To coincide with the release of The Wind – Deluxe, Deutsche Grammophon will be screening Balmorhea: The Wind – Live in Marfa on DG Stage on the same day, 22 July, at 6pm PST. For this film, made in the desert town of Marfa, Texas, Balmorhea’s Rob Lowe and Michael A. Muller were joined by Aisha Burns (violin/vocals), Clarice Jensen (cello) and Rob Mazurek (piccolo trumpet). Over the course of a day, they performed the album in the vast and atmospheric surroundings of the Arena, one of the large-scale installations in the permanent collection of the Chinati Foundation, a contemporary art museum founded by US artist Donald Judd. The building itself becomes a voice in Balmorhea’s music, as its roof expands and contracts according to changes in temperature and wind patterns, creating varying degrees and types of noise. 

Go to artist details