Choose artist...
Avishai Cohen

Big Vicious


Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Hidden Chamber / Pyramid Song
1 Honey Fountain  
2 Hidden Chamber  
3 King Kutner  
4 Moonlight Sonata  
5 Fractals  
6 Teardrop  
7 The Things You Tell Me  
8 This Time It's Different  
9 Teno Neno  
10 The Cow & The Calf  
11 Intent  
Show all tracks

Charismatic trumpeter Avishai Cohen launched his homegrown band Big Vicious six years ago, after relocating from the US to his native Israel, rounding up friends to shape the music from the ground up. Guitarist Uzi Ramirez, bassist Jonathan Albalak and drummer Aviv Cohen write much of the material together with Avishai. Ziv Ravitz, from Avishai's acoustic quartet, was recruited as second drummer a year ago. "We're all coming from jazz, but some of us left it earlier", Avishai says, summing up the stylistic reach of his cohorts. "Everyone's bringing in their backgrounds, and that becomes part of the sound of the band." Textures from electronica, ambient music and psychedelia are part of the blend, so too grooves and beats from rock, pop, trip-hop and more. A wide-open approach to cover versions - from Massive Attack to Beethoven - is also integral to the Vicious vision. Recorded in Studios La Buissonne in the South of France in August 2019 and produced by Manfred Eicher, Big Vicious's debut album is issued as the band gears up for extensive international touring.

Go to artist details