Choose artist...
Attacca Quartet

Of All Joys

Sony Classical
Release Date: November 5, 2021

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Dominic Salerni chat with Winnipeg - Classic 107
Interview w/ WGTE
1 Arvo Part: Summa 5:44  
2 Luca Marenzio: Solo e pensoso 5:01  
3 John Dowland: Flow My Tears (Lachrimae) 3:55  
4 Orlando Gibbons: Fantasia a 6 in D minor 3:45  
5 Philip Glass: String Quartet No. 3 ?Mishima? / I 1957: Award Montage4:11  
6 II November 25: Ishigaya 1:21  
7 III 1934: Grandmother and Kimitake 4:12  
8 IV 1962: Body Building 1:41  
9 V Blood Oath 3:16  
10 VI Mishima / Closing 2:57  
11 Gregorio Allegri: Miserere 8:00  
12 John Bennet: Weep, O Mine Eyes 2:53  
13 Jacobus Clemens non Papa: Ego flos campi a 7 4:38  
14 Arvo Part: Fratres 11:32  
Show all tracks

The Brooklyn four-piece ATTACCA QUARTET channel the joy of music and creativity and the excitement of being physically together again on their upcoming Sony Classical album Of All Joys set for release November 5 and available now for preorder.  The album features their original take on great works from both the Minimalist movement and the Renaissance era. Today, they share the first single, "Weep, O Mine Eyes," their own version of English composer John Bennet's famous madrigal. Peaceful and meditative, the plaintive, melancholic strings conjure a deep stillness, and a sense of majesty.

Taken from the upcoming album Of All Joys – the title of which is an adapted lyric in John Dowland's beloved madrigal "Flow my Tears" that the quartet have arranged and featured – the first single "Weep, O Mine Eyes" was chosen for both its beauty, and its legacy. "We wanted to point out the direct lineage of the madrigal from Luca Marenzio to Bennet and to Dowland, and its history concurrent with secular music," says violinist Domenic Salerni. "They are no less spiritual or enlightened than works created for strict ecclesiastical use."

Go to artist details