Choose artist...
Anne Akiko Meyers

Serenade - The Love Album

Release Date: September 18, 2015

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Anne Akiko Meyers Love Notes 'Serenade:The Love Album' Trailer
Anne Akiko Meyers Plays Ennio Morricone's 'LOVE THEME' from Cinema Paradiso
Anne Akiko Meyers Plays Leonard Bernstein's 'Serenade:The Love Album' Trailer
'Wish Upon a Star' The Making Of Anne Akiko Meyers' 'Serenade-The Love Album'
1 Leonard Bernstein: Serenade I. Phaedrus; Pausanias
2 Leonard Bernstein: Serenade II. Aristophanes
3 Leonard Bernstein: Serenade III. Eryximachus
4 Leonard Bernstein: Serenade IV. Agathon
5 Leonard Bernstein: Serenade V. Socrates; Alcibiades
6 Ennio & Andrea Morricone: Love Theme from Cinema Paradiso
7 David Raksin: Laura
8 George Gershwin: Someone to Watch Over Me
9 George Gershwin: Summertime
10 Ennio Morricone: Gabriel's Oboe
11 Michel Colombier: Emmanuel
12 Jacob Gade: Jalousie
13 Astor Piazzolla: Oblivion
14 Leigh Harline: Wish Upon A Star
15 Sammy Fain: I'll Be Seeing You
16 Leonard Bernstein: Somewhere
Show all tracks

On September 18, eOne will release Anne Akiko Meyers' 31st album: Serenade: The Love Album, an exploration of love in all its dimensions, featuring Leonard Bernstein's "Serenade" and ten world premieres from seven living composer-arrangers. "Serenade" is one of Leonard Bernstein's masterpieces, and was recorded in anticipation of the composer's upcoming 100th birthday celebration. It is based on a reading of Plato's Symposium, in which seven ancient Greek philosophers debate the meaning of love. Anne Akiko Meyers, a champion of living composers, commissioned seven renowned composer-arrangers to create ten works for violin and orchestra from love-inspired music from stage and film to pair with the Serenade. The London Symphony Orchestra and conductor Keith Lockhart join Anne in this recording, which will be released on the celebration of Anne's own parents' 50th wedding anniversary, produced by Susan Napodano DelGiorno and engineered by GRAMMY-award winner Silas Brown.

Leonard Bernstein's Serenade, originally titled Symposium, is a five movement tour de force for violin, strings, harp, and percussion. It was premiered by Isaac Stern in Venice on September 12, 1954, with the composer conducting and is Bernstein's most popular piece for solo instrumentalist and orchestra. New works include orchestrated arrangements of modern classics such as Brad Dechter's versions of "Laura," Gershwin's "Someone to Watch Over Me," and a bluesy, honky-tonk iteration of "Summertime." "Gabriel's Oboe," arranged by J.A.C. Redford, with its acrobatic, high notes, is juxtaposed poignantly with the solemn beauty of Steven Mercurio's take on "Emmanuel." Matthew Naughtin's tongue-in-cheek "Jalousie," bookended by elements of the Tchaikovsky Violin concerto, energetically flows into Astor Piazzolla's soul-busting "Oblivion," arranged by Peter von Weinhardt, and to the magical luster of Leigh Harline's "When You Wish Upon a Star," arranged by father-son composing duo Steven and Adam Schoenberg. Dechter's soaring reworking of "I'll Be Seeing You" and Bernstein's "Somewhere" from West Side Story close out the album. Complete tracklisting is below.


Go to artist details