Choose artist...
Anja Lechner | Francois Couturier



Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Maria Pia De Vito, Francois Couturier, Anja Lechner, Michele Rabbia - Il Pergolese
1 Praeludium  
2 Arpeggio  
3 Gratitude  
4 Alfonsina y el mar  
5 Flow  
6 Memory of a Melody  
7 Solar I  
8 Solar II  
9 Shadow  
10 Miniature 27  
11 Hymne  
12 Vague / E la nave va  
13 Lontano  
14 Tryptic  
15 Prelude en berceuse  
16 Postludium  
Show all tracks

On Moderato Cantabile, their 2013 duo recording, Anja Lechner and François Couturier illuminated some musical and spiritual affinities linking Komitas Vardapet, George I. Gurdjieff and Federico Mompou, composers at the crossroads of East and West.  With Lontano, the German cellist and the French pianist widen the scope of their music. 

Out of their shared work – which has included concerts and recordings with the Tarkovsky Quartet and the Il Pergolese project as well as duo activities – a shared language has evolved. Whether playing their own pieces, compositions by Henri Dutilleux or Giya Kancheli or Anouar Brahem, drawing upon a Bach cantata or an Argentinean folk lament, Lechner and Couturier have established a distinctive musical identity. Finding atmospheric and expressive connections among far-flung sources, they also create new music that reflects and refracts its inspirations. 

Go to artist details