Choose artist...
Anita Rachvelishvili


Sony Classical

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 6 Romances, Op. 6 No. 6 None but the Lonely Heart  
2 6 Romances, Op. 73 No. 2 Night  
3 6 Romances, Op. 25 No. 1 Reconciliation  
4 6 Romances, Op. 8 No. 2 Child, you are Beautiful as a Flower  
5 6 Romances, Op. 8 No. 4 I Fell in Love  
6 12 Romances, Op. 21 No. 7 How Fair This Spot  
7 6 Romances, Op. 4 No. 4 Do not Sing to me, my Beauty  
8 12 Romances, Op. 14 No. 8 Oh, do not Mourn Me!  
9 Sun of Haying Month  
10 Non tamo piu!  
11 Ideale  
12 Tristezza  
13 Elegie  
14 Chanson triste  
15 La vie Anterieure  
16 No. 1 El pano moruno  
17 No. 2 Seguidilla murciana  
18 No. 3 Asturiana  
19 No. 4 Jota  
20 No. 5 Nana  
21 No. 6 Cancion  
22 No. 7 Polo  
Show all tracks

Sony Classical is proud to present the new album from the Georgian mezzo-soprano Anita Rachvelishvili: Élégie showcases her in the song repertoire to which she has a special connection despite being best known as a star of the world's greatest opera houses. Riccardo Muti has called her 'without doubt the best Verdi mezzo-soprano today on the planet,' but here she reveals another side to her art.

"I really love this repertoire," says Rachvelishvili. "It gives one more colours and more possibilities for expressing emotions with the voice." Add in the fact that her programme features five languages-representing five very different repertoire traditions-and it becomes clear that the new releases is notable for its variety.

Rachvelishvili presents songs in Russian, Georgian, Italian, French and Spanish. Echoing her debut album of operatic arias on Sony, she introduces listeners to a great if internationally neglected Georgian composer, in this case Otar Taktakishvili, heard in Sun of Haying Month, a setting of the distinguished Georgian poet Galaktion Tabidze.

Go to artist details